Volvo Noble Marine RS800 UK Nationals - Roger and Will lead on day two

Volvo Noble Marine RS800 UK Nationals
RS Nationals
Day two dawned overcast, drizzly and looked pretty light. Local knowledge proved correct, with Andy 'Stand By for a Foam Up' Jefferies correctly picking up the extra sea breeze once the sun came out.

Race one started in a steady 13-15 knots with the right paying heavily due to the lesser tide, flatter water and bend heading in on Port. Many of the fleet had picked this leading to a few failed Garda-esque port tack approaches. Overnight leaders Nick Charles / Christian Humphrey and Roger Phillips / Will Crocker got the match racing started early. At the first windward mark it was Roger and Will leading from Laurie Fitzjohn Sykes / Dan Allin with Tom Halhead and Stu Jagger in third. Laurie took the lead on the second beat with Roger and Will electing to avoid the right hand corner and dropping down to second. These positions were held to the finish with Dave Hivey and Rob Partridge picking the best line through the traffic at the final windward to come through and take third.

Volvo Noble Marine RS800 UK Nationals
RS Nationals
The breeze had built significantly for the second race, starting in about 17-18 knots. Tim Saxton / Jonny Clegg and Dave / Rob went for the right hand end of the line, tacked and headed for the beach immediately. Tim / Jonny’s pace saw them rounding the first mark with a ten metre lead over Dave / Rob, with Roger and Will rounding in third. The breeze continued to build to over 20 knots during the race with the final downwind getting pretty spicy, and a graveyard of 7’s / 8’s near the gybe point and bottom of the course. Tim and Jonny took a big win, with Dave / Rob in second and James Date / Toby Wincer coming through to take third. With the breeze continuing to increase and tide turning to increase the chop, the third race was sensibly canned, leaving everyone to head back for an early bath and time to hit the charity shops ahead of the 'tight and bright' pub crawl planned for later on.

RS800 2013 National Results PDFPrint
Provisional Results as of 17:01 on August 9, 2013OverallSailed: 4, Discards: 1, To count: 3, Entries: 48, Scoring system: Appendix A
RankSail NoHelmCrewClubFleetBuddy TeamOtherR1R2R3R4TotalNett
1st1204Roger PhillipsWill CrockerEmberton park sailing clubGoldA 1.0(5.0)
2nd1203Tim SaxtonJonathon CleggGrafham Water / ItchenorGoldB 6.02.0(17.0)
3rd1187David HiveyRob PartridgeLDCGoldF 4.0(6.0)
4th1195James DateToby WincerPort DenorwicGoldD 3.03.0(4.0)
5th1144Nicholas CharlesChristian HumphreyRYAGoldN 5.01.0(8.0)
6th1189Hugh ShoneHannah TattersallCastle Cove Sailing ClubGoldILC2.0(8.0)
7th1182Andy JeffriesChris FibushESSCGoldH
8th1180Tom HalheadStu Jagger.GoldE
9th1113Ben SchoolingTim HirstDatchet WaterGoldI 11.07.0(16.0)
10th1066David PikeNick JerkinsESSCGoldMM(49.0 DNF)
11th872Dan KilsbySarah MartinDubai Offshore Sailing ClubGoldCLC(16.0)
12th1133Hugh WatsonAndy WatkinsEmsworth Sailing ClubGoldPM10.013.010.0(30.0)63.033.0
13th1154David SteedLouise FisherNetley s cGoldLLC7.014.014.0(28.0)63.035.0
14th1163James GreenJamie TrewickBeer SCGoldK 8.0(15.0)
15th1061Tom JeffcoateEmma WarnerNotts county scGoldG 13.0(23.0)
16th1129Luke McEwenEmma McEwenRoyal Lymington YCGoldJLC15.012.0(19.0)
17th864Ella MitchellJames MorlandWarsashSIlverPLH14.017.0(23.0)
18th1072Alex KoukourakisRobert pikeESSCGoldG (20.0)
19th1128Seb BaucuttAlex FarrallThorpe Bay YC/ Essex YCSIlverDY18.020.0(24.0)
20th1124Laurie Fitzjohn-SykesDaniel AllinQueen Mary SCGoldK (49.0 DNF)49.0 DNC1.06.0105.056.0
21st1132Mick WhitmoreSarah SmithEastbourne Sovereign sailing ClubGoldOM / LC21.0(49.0 DNF)15.021.0106.057.0
22nd868Joel WalkerSarah CrossmanLancing SCSIlverDLC(49.0 DNC)
23rd1142Oli WoodsJane TurnerOB Woods DesignSIlverOLC22.021.0(28.0)
24th1146Martin OrtonIan BrooksChichester YC/ Treardddr Bay SCGoldMM17.0(49.0 DNF)21.027.0114.065.0
25th1179Neil FarmerKaren BakerDatchet/ParkstoneSIlverNLC19.026.022.0(35.0)102.067.0
26th1127Derek BuchananElaine buchananOxfordSIlverLM / LC(49.0 OCS)
27th1200Richard kennedyTom kennedyThorney Island SCSIlverE 24.022.0(30.0)24.0100.070.0
28th1288Mike GreenSophie McAleenanEastbourneSIlverELC(30.0)
29th1091Ben DaigneaultJames Powell-CullingfordEastbourne Sovereign Sailing ClubSIlverF 26.024.0(37.0)29.0 AVG116.079.0
30th953Andrew PickrellTom LambertWilsonian Sailing ClubSIlverIM25.029.027.0(49.0 DNF)130.081.0
31st989Andrew JarvisAndy KerrOxford Sailing ClubSIlverM 27.0(31.0)31.025.0114.083.0
32nd951Andrew BlundellMaddie FennerWarsash Sailing ClubSIlverH 23.030.0(38.0)33.0124.086.0
33rd1043Chris DoddHenry ArnoldRutland Water Sailing ClubSIlverA DNF)141.092.0
34th815Kit GloverMike HuttonItchenor Sailing ClubSIlverA (49.0 DNF)
35th1122Grahame smithNicola smithWilsonian scSIlverJM / LC29.033.0(34.0)31.0127.093.0
36th983Dan DruceStu MooreStokes BaySIlverLY(49.0 DNF)49.0 DNF40.010.0148.099.0
37th961Stewart PatienceJenny PerssonBerliner Yacht ClubSIlverJLC31.032.036.0(49.0 DNF)148.099.0
38th1010Katie NortonJames ClaphamCardiff Yacht ClubSIlverNLH(49.0 DNC)49.0 DNC29.023.0150.0101.0
39th1015Simon PayneFenella WilliamsOxfordSIlverOLC33.037.0(42.0)37.0149.0107.0
40th1185Stephen BrownWill Brown / Phil BairstowUllswater YCSIlverC DNF)159.0110.0
41st932Brian AllenClaire AllenBrightlingsea sailing clubSIlverGM / LC28.034.0(49.0 DNC)49.0 DNC160.0111.0
42nd821Jamie morgannick loganGrafhamSIlverB (49.0 DNF)49.0 DNC35.034.0167.0118.0
43rd907Stephen McIntyreEwen LamontLoch Lomond Sailing ClubSIlverF 35.0(49.0 DNF)49.0 DNF36.0169.0120.0
44th900Thomas DurhamRoger PlailESSCSilverP (49.0 DNC) DNF173.0124.0
45th1102Peter HaywardJill MairEastbourne Sovereign Sailing ClubSIlverHM / LC(49.0 DNF)38.049.0 DNC49.0 DNC185.0136.0
46th1050Keith EllisKim EllisCastle Cove SCSIlverB (49.0 DNC)49.0 DNC49.0 DNC49.0 DNC196.0147.0
46th847Martin KeenRichard KeenHISCSIlverCM(49.0 DNC)49.0 DNC49.0 DNC49.0 DNC196.0147.0
46th982Aaron SmithAlec RodgersWilsonian SCSIlverK (49.0 DNC)49.0 DNC49.0 DNC49.0 DNC196.0147.0