News Home Cruising Photo Gallery Video Gallery : Dunsborough Bay Yacht Club Awards Night
Dunsborough Bay Yacht Club Awards Night

'Dunsborough Bay Yacht Club Awards Night'    Jenny Honeybun    Click Here to view large photo

On May 17th Dunsborough held their annual award night to celebrate the past season. The event was again a great success. The food was fantastic, the beverage flowed, and the company was sensational. Club Patron Hon Barry House presided over the night and was as usual supportive and encouraging to all members.

About 80 people attended and it was good to see so many different sailors recognized. The fleet is growing fast and there is now stiff competition for trophies. It is planned to have two fleets next year to accommodate the extra sailors and their different skill levels with everyone having the chance to win a trophy next year.

Congratulations to DBSC’s current state champions Dean Cowan, Caelin Winchcombe and Klaus Schmechtig - who would think that a small club like this could have three state champions. Well to be true one only has to be there on a Sunday to see the quality of the current fleet to know. With many new junior sailors starting this year and with a bit of training and time on water, there may even be more to brag about soon.

The Polar Bear season starts on the 15th June and everyone is welcome to join the winter sailing. Remember there is a trophy up for grabs Stefan needs a run for his money.

Awards Winners
Junior Minnow Champions: first Grace Myburgh, second Colby Taylor and third Sam Irvine
Junior Most Improved: Harry Ainsworth and Callum Lewis
Junior Perseverance Award: Huey McDowall
The Southern Compass Trophy for Consistency: Chad Cowan and Sarah Hales
Polar Bear: Stefan Kurys-Romer
Commodore’s Trophy: Dean Cowan
Senior Champion: Dean Cowan
Patrons Cup: Caelin Winchcombe and Dean Cowan
Junior Patrons Cup: Caelin Winchcombe and Dean Cowan
Quindalup Cup: Dean Cowan
D&J McCaffery Trophy: Stefan Kurys-Romer
Cape Construction Trophy: Stefan Kurys-Romer
JMW Trophy: David Lodge
Lady Skippers Award: Rebecca Hunt
Senior Club Person of the Year: Chris Ryall
Junior Club Persons of the Year: Dean Cowan, Chad Cowan and Morgan Flower
Volunteers Awards: Neil Cowan, Graeme Missen, Trish Flower, Noelene Taylor, Max de Pledge, Nola Uren and Joan Embry
Mother of All Ducks: Jim Major

by Jenny Honeybun


Click on the FB Like link to post this story to your FB wall

12:08 PM Mon 16 Jun 2014GMT

Click here for printer friendly version
Click here to send us feedback or comments about this story.

News - USA and the World

International Moth Worlds - Mothballed on day 4 + Video by Mark Jardine /,

Gladwell's Line: A change of direction needed in the America's Cup *Feature by Richard Gladwell/,

Anna Tunnicliffe set to compete at the CrossFit Games by Anna Tunnicliffe, Pittsburgh, PA

Final day shakes up standings at Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek by Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Race Week 2014,

2014 Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek - Waiting game on Day 3
International Moth Worlds: Thunderstorms delay racing on Day 1
Fuerteventura World Cup - Impressive tricks on day 1
2014 Governor's Cup - Two former winners in the finals
America's Cup: Iain Murray explains reasons for Australian withdrawal *Feature
Wilson and Roble remain number one match racers in U.S.
2014 ISAF Youth Match Racing World Championship - Set to start
PWA Pozo World Cup - Moreno twins dominate home spot
ISAF Youth Worlds - Record breaking regatta in Tavira + Video
Melges 32 European Championship - Robertissima remains out front
Farr 40 West Coast Championship - Italians take one-point lead
Melges 32 European Championship - Day 3 images by Carlo Borlenghi
New York Yacht Club Race Week - Marstrom 32 fleet off to anxious start
Melges 32 European Championship - Day 3 images by Max Ranchi
CYC Race to Mackinac - Cruising fleet sets sail in 106th edition
Team Alvimedica getting a touchup
PWA Pozo World Cup - Plenty of drama on day 5
ISAF Youth Sailing World Championship - Day 5 Videos
NYYC Race Week - High performance classes put on shoreside show
2014 Pacific Cup - 'Invisible Hand' the first boat to finish
Clipper Round the World Yacht Race - B.C.'s Eric Holden skippers wins   
America's Cup: Updates on Team Australia withdraw   
J/70 North American titles - Brian Keane moves to top of leaderboard   
2016-2017 America's Cup - Team Australia withdraws   
VX One North American Championship - Chris Alexander takes charge   
America's Cup: Team NZ disappointed, but on track after Australians go   
America's Cup: Hamilton Island decides not to proceed with Challenge.   
America's Cup: Challenger of Record withdraws from Regatta   
WWA Wakeboard National Championships head to Waco   
Farr 40 West Coast Championship - Day 2   
RP52 Scarlet Runner sails in San Francisco   
2014 Governor's Cup - Nevin Snow and team on form   
ISAF Youth Worlds - Americans claim silver medals in Tavira   
2014 Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek - Day 1   
Melges 32 European Championship - Day 2 images by Carlo Borlenghi   
Windsurfing and Kiteboarding World Cup to take place on Fuerteventura   
ISAF Youth Worlds - Medals decided in thrilling Tavira conclusion   
7th Annual Swim for Cystic Fibrosis to take place July 21st   
Melges 32 European Championship - Day 2 images by Max Ranchi   
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket Raceweek, Day 2 - It just keeps getting better   

For this week's complete news stories select    Last 7 Days
   Search All News
For last month's complete news stories select    Last 30 Days
   Archive News  

Switch Default Region to:

Social Media





New Zealand

United Kingdom

United States

Cruising Northern

Cruising Southern

MarineBusiness World

PowerBoat World

FishingBoating World






Contact Us

Advertisers Information

Submit news/events

Search Stories/Text


Advertisers Directory

Newsletter Archive

Photo Gallery


Banner Advertising Details

Newsletter Subscribe

Video Gallery





Privacy Policy



Cookie Policy



This site and its contents are © Copyright TetraMedia and/or the original author, photographer etc. All Rights Reserved.  Photographs are copyright by law.  If you wish to use or buy a photograph contact the photographer directly.
LocalAds   DE  ES  FR  IT