Tornado World Championship warm-up event

BEL Tornado sailors, Carolijn Brouwer and Sebastian Godefroid at Sail Melbourne 2008.

The Tornado New Zealand Nationals are being sailed this weekend at Takapuna. Three weeks from now racing will start off Takapuna Beach for the 2008 Tornado World Championship. 44 entries are confirmed with representatives from 19 different countries coming to North Shore City for this World Championships which doubles as the final Olympic qualifier.

With the Olympic Games now just seven months away this 44 boat Tornado fleet is world class and includes a multitude of Olympic and World Champions and medallists. An important lead-up regatta for those on the road to Qingdao, China the Tornado World Championships has attracted an unprecedented fleet of Olympic multi-hull sailors to New Zealand.

Britain's Olympic representatives, Leigh McMillan and Will Howden head-up a GBR team of Andrew Walsh and Ed Barney, Rob Wilson and Mark Bulkeley, Tom Phipps and Marcus Lynch, and Stephen Medwell and Stuart Offer.

Racing will start on Monday 25 February with a practice race scheduled for Sunday 24th. The regatta concludes with the crowning of the new Tornado World Champions on Saturday 1 March.

The Tornado catamaran has been an Olympic class since its debut in 1976 and is touted as the fastest production catamaran in the world. Fast and spectacular the Tornado World Championship regatta off Takapuna Beach promises to be an exciting spectacle.

The current entry list for the 2008 Tornado World Championships has been published, currently there are 46 crews entered and organisers expect this to increase as the start date of the event 22 February 2008, approaches.

Bow numbers will be allocated in order of ISAF World Rankings as of 20 January 2008.

The Tornado Nationals are being sailed this weekend, at Takapuna, an entry of 12-15 crews are expected.

NationSail #SkipperISAF RankCrew
1AUS8Darren Bundock1Glenn Ashby
2ESP1Fernando Echavarri2Anton Paz
3GER7Johannes Polgar4Florian Spalteholy
4GBR436Leigh McMillan6Will Howden
5CAN 7Oskar Johansson7Kevin Stittle
6NEDMitch Booth8Pim Nieuwenhuis
7RUSKirilyuk Andrey9Ushkov Valeriy
8AUT3Roman Hagan 10Hans Peter Steinacher
9FRA5Billy Besson13Arnaud Jarlegan
10ESP23Tony Rivas14Fabian Escude
11USA808John Lovell16Charlie Ogletree
12GBR447Andrew Walsh17Edward Barney
13ITA257Francesco Marcolini18Edoardo Bianchi
14GBR 7Rob Wilson19Mark Bulkeley
15GER1Roland Gaebler20Gunnar Struckmann
16PUR1Enrique Figueroa21Jorge Hernandez
17AUT8Thomas Zajac22Thomas Czajka
18BEL7Carolijn Brouyer23Sebastien Godefroid
19DEN1Allan Norregaard27Michael Risoer
20GBR5Chris Rashley28(Withdrawn)
21RUSDzhienbaev Sergey29Semenov Maxim
22UKR11Pavlo Kalynchev30Andriy Shanfranyuk
23ARG1Santiago Lange32Carlos Espinola
24NZL70David Mead33Chris Burgess
25NZL121Aaron McIntosh37Mark Kennedy
26NZLBruce Kendall40Blair Tuke
27BRA7Bruno Di Bernardi43Mario Tinoco
28GBR3Tom Phipps45Marcus Lynch
29POL1Piotr Kowalewski50Maciey Klosowicz
30NZL74David Shaw58Susan Shaw
31CHN58You Jia Lao61Xiu Ke Chen
32GER17Eckart Kaphengst72Rasmus Topsch
33NZL84Rex Sellers77Nigel Williams
34GBR406Stephen MedwellStuart Offer
35AUS 305Alan GambleKim Nicholas
36AUS O13Rohan LangworthyJack Punch Benson
37AUS322Brett BurvillRyan Duffield
38NZL77Paul FrancisAaron Duncan
39AUS300Damien FordMark Edmonds
40AUS285Paul PetersonMatt Thackray
41NZL86William CaunceLiam Blair-Caunce
42NZL1Brett SellersPeter Fyfe
43AUS287Paul RaymondNicholas Raymond
44GERJustus Wolf
45CHN1Bo LinShanfeng Yang
46CHN2An Jie LuXue Hai Zhuang