Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race - Australian Cricket Captain makes debut

Michael Clarke and Anthony Bell with the Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race line honours trophy.
Dale Lorimer
2014 Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race - Australian Cricket Captain Michael Clarke will make his ocean racing debut aboard Perpetual Loyal in the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia organised Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race which starts this Saturday 26 July at 1pm off Nielsen Park on Sydney Harbour.

'I’ve been working with Anthony Bell (owner of Perpetual Loyal) for a while now to try and see how we could work together and I’m really glad to be part of the team,' Clarke said of the race that will take him well outside his comfort zone. Ex-Wallaby turned pro-sailor Phil Waugh will be there to support Clarke.

This will be the first time Perpetual Loyal and Wild Oats XI have met since last year’s Sydney Hobart Yacht Race and both have recently undergone modifications all aimed at making the super maxis even faster.

A fleet of 56 yachts representing the top echelons of Australian yachting will take on the 384 nautical mile race that finishes off Main Beach at Southport on Queensland’s Gold Coast, with line honours contenders aiming at WOXI’s open race record of 22 hours 3 minutes 46 seconds, set in 2012.

The start of the 384 nautical mile Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race is at 13:00hrs, Saturday 26 July 2014

The start line off Nielsen Park at Vaucluse. The fleet will then proceed out of Sydney Heads and turn left towards the Gold Coast, finishing just off Main Beach, Southport. 56 yachts including Wild Oats XI, Perpetual LOYAL, Brindabella, Black Jack, Southern Excellence II, Ichi Ban, Victoire and Balance.

THE 2014 RACE The Yachts
Yacht NameSail NumberState / CountryType
Abracadabra5612NSWTripp 47
After Midnight8778NSWFarr 40 Mod
Amante6609NSWSydney 36 CR
Anger Management11011NSWCorby 43
ArielA140NSWBeneteau First 40
Audere4545TASBeneteau First 45
Balance52002NSWFarr Tp 52
Bear NecessityMH115NSWC & C 115
Black Jack52570QLDVolvo 70
Black Sheep33345NSWBeneteau 45
Brindabella10000NSWJutson 80
Celestial421NSWRogers 46
ChutzpahR33VICCaprice 40
Close HalledM3NSWBeneteau First 40
Colortile67NSWSayer 44.9
ConcubineB40SABeneteau First 40
Elena Nova65007NSWJudel & Vorlijk 42
Flying Cloud6808NSWBeneteau First 40
NSWTP52 Donovan
Helsal 3262TASAdams 20
Ichi BanAUS01NSWCarkeek 60
Isabella6654NSWHanse 400E
L'Altra Donna6935NSWSummit 35
Last Tango8975NSWSalona 44
Le Billet10447NSWBeneteau First 44.7
Local Hero1236NSWBH 36
Luna Sea8339NSWHick 35
Merlin93NSWKaiko 52
Mortgage Choice Rumba6232NSWNorthshore 370
Not A DiamondRQ2404QLDBeneteau First 40
Occasional Coarse Language One8009NSWCookson 12
Occasional Coarse Language Too8008NSWSydney GTS 43
PMA Yeah BabyA5NSWWelbourn 50
Papillon6841NSWArchambault 40RC
Patrice360NSWKer 46
Patrice SixMH777NSWX-41
Perpetual LOYALSYD 1000NSWJuan-K 100
Pretty Fly III10007NSWCookson 50
Pretty Woman545NSWIC 45 MOD
Primitive CoolS777VICRP51
She's The Culprit370NSWInglis /Jones 39
Southern Excellence IIAUS03NSWVolvo Open 70
St George Midnight Rambler8338NSWKer 40
St Jude6686NSWSydney 47
The Banshee4100NSWMBD41
The Goat7027NSWSydney 38
Thirlmere3060NSWSydney 38
TwitchB44VICBeneteau First 44.7
VictoireAUS5299NSWCookson 50
Wax Lyrical248NSWX 50
Wild Oats XIAUS10001QLDRP100
Wild Rose4343NSWFarr 43
Wot Eva - SWD6953NSWNelson Marek 52
XS Moment11744NSWXP44

Event website