Smith and Mildred win Fireball Inlands

Fireball Inland Championship 2008

Bright sunshine a friendly welcome coupled with 8-10 knots of breeze greeted the 70 competitors who made the trip to Pitsford Reservoir for the Fireball Inland Championships at Northampton Sailing Club. Current National Champions Dave Wade and Ben McGrane were absent at the Endeavour Trophy at Dave's home club. Who would take this years title?

Race 1 got away on time with Matt Findlay and Richard Anderton fighting hard to keep in front of Andy Smith and Jonny Mildred who held off club mates Kevin Hope and James Cooper and Martin Lewis and Richard Byne. There was much place changing throughout the rest of the fleet all weekend with the racing being very tight.

After lunch race 2 got away at the second attempt, this time it was Matt Mee and Richard Wagstaff who got away and they built a big lead. Hope and Cooper took second ahead of Smith/Mildred with Richard Estaugh and Sam Thompson 3rd.

The wind had dropped for the final race of the day and the race officer clearly was far to excited about the prospect of England vs Kazakhstan and hoisted the black flag. This time Russ and Ali Cormack lead from the windward mark and held this to the finish. Mee/Wagstaff holding off Estaugh/Thompson. Smith/Mildred moved through to fourth by the end of the race just ahead of Hope/Cooper.

The fleet retired to the bar and enjoyed mountains of excellent food and beverages. Morning brought fog and not a drop of wind. with only small improvement during the morning racing was abandoned meaning Andy Smith and Jonny Mildred added a second Inlands title to their collection winning by 1 point from Hope/Cooper.

Four different British teams now hold the World, European, National and Inland titles. The final Fireball event of the season is on the 1/2 November at Draycote Water with a very big turnout expected at this popular open meeting.

Pinnell and Bax Fireball Inland Championship 2008
1st14895Andy SmithJonny MildredNotts County SC2.
2nd14950Kevin HopeJames CooperNotts County SC3.
3rd14994Matt MeeRichard WagstaffHollingworth Lake SC9.
4th14226Martin LewisRichard ByneDraycote Water SC4.
5th14948Richard EstaughSam ThompsonChase14.
6th14805Mark MaskellJon WarkinsBrightlingsea5.
7th14899Matt FindlayRichard AndertonWeston SC1.
8th14920Vince HoreySam BreareyKing George SC11.
9th14820Andrew PearceGary Henwood-FoxPortishead Yacht & Sailing Club13.
10th15004Peter GraySimon ForbesStaunton Harold10.
11th14954Becky PriestTim SaundersStaunton Harold15.
12th14980Tom FoskettTim NeedhamStaunton Harold6.
13th14837Russ CormackAli CormackBudworth20.
14th14941Denon ScottAndy ScottChew Valley Lake SC16.
15th14966Grahame NewtonMark StevensStaunton Harold8.
16th14993David HallPaul ConstableThorpe Bay YC7.
17th14370Daren FaseyColin DavisStaunton Harold17.
18th14967Tom CastleAnthony YorkNorthampton21.
19th14909Ian PriestMike StoddartSouth Cerney19.
20th15002S J KelsallTom WilliamsonStaunton Harold12.
21st14977Philip PoppleGavin TilsonShoreham18.013.036.0 DNC67.067.0
22nd14889Ralph SingletonMaria FosterChew Valley Lake SC22.
23rd14976Ross KearneyStuart KearneyNorthampton26.
24th14935Andy FoskettLesley FoskettStaunton Harold23.
25th14973Terry FombesRichard PepperdineStaunton Harold28.
26th14564Jonathan CooperCheryl JessopArdleigh SC29.
27th13951Peter SlackHanio OgrazinskiStaunton Harold27.
28th14876Chris WalkerDaniel WalkerStaunton Harold25.
29th14779Tim HandJohn HobsonNotts County SC24.036.0 BFD21.081.081.0
30th14266Bob TudawoodDebbie TudawoodNotts County SC30.
31st14628Maria RichardsJohn PlattBSC/Hill Head31.
32nd14995Steve GreenhalghHeidi CokayneStaunton Harold32.
33rd14108Richard StoneOllie StoneStaunton Harold33.033.034.0100.0100.0
34th14999D FestingK FestingShoreham36.0 DNF32.033.0101.0101.0
35th14621Jeremy HurstAndrew HurstParkstone36.0 DNC36.0 DNC30.0102.0102.0
1st Silver Fleet Daren Fasey and Colin Davis
1st Bronze Fleet Jonathon Cooper and Cheryl Jessop
1st Youth Tom Castle
1st Lady Helm Becky Priest