San Fernando Race 2013 - Red Kite II eyeing the record book

Red Kite II - hoping for a tilt at the history books.
Red Kite II’s Anthony Root is out to make history by being the first boat ever to win IRC Overall three times in a row. Tipsy Easy is out for the first time - her predecessor, Tipsy Frenz sank during last year’s Taiwan Strait Race and the new boat is named after commercial vessel Easy Success which picked up all the crew. 16 year old Aymeric Gillard is looking forward to crewing on Shahtoosh after being promised a place for the Race when he was only 12. We also have members of the Philippine National Team on board Judes Echauz’ TP52.

Supported by the Philippines Department of Tourism, and proving ‘it’s more fun in the Philippines!,’ 24 boats will gather on the start line in Victoria Harbour for the 19th edition of the San Fernando Race, which starts on Wednesday 27 March.

This 480nm Category 1 offshore race attracts a sector of the sailing population committed to blue water offshore racing, with Hong Kong sailors being joined by their peers from Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, Norway and Holland, among many other countries, making it a truly cosmopolitan event.

The current race record of 49 hours 55 minutes and 12 seconds was set by Sam Chan’s FfreeFire in 2001. Unfortunately Sam Chan is out of contention this year as his ‘new’ FfreeFire lost her rig competing in the recent Subic to Boracay Race.

For details, please visit