PWA Tenerife World Cup 2011 day 4 defies gravity

by PWA 
Danielsen cut back - PWA Tenerife World Cup 2011 Day 4
PWA Tenerife World Cup 2011's Super-session on day four was whipped to a frenzy of excitement with gravity defying jumps and crisp cut backs from the men and women’s wave fleet.

The wind and waves continued to hammer El Medano’s coastline, providing outstanding competition conditions for the fourth day running. Having completed the official competition in record time, the crowds on the beach were hungry for more action from the world’s most radical wave sailors. After a gentle morning spent relaxing in the sun it was announced the super session would commence at 1pm.

The sailors were swiftly organized into heats of around twenty sailors and allocated twenty minutes perform their most insane stunts. During that time the judges were looking for the most radical wave ride or the highest most impressive aerial maneuver.

With a ten passes into the legendary Siam Water Park (famed for its artificial surf wave) up for grabs, the sailors hit the water and furiously went about launching into their most extreme tricks in order to outdo each other.

In heat one of the men's fleet, Kai Lenny (Naish / Naish) opened with a super-fast backside 360, shortly followed by a succession of takas from Kauli Seadi (JP / NeilPryde) and Klaas Voget (Fanatic / Simmer / MFC). Voget picked up a huge wave out the back and quickly secured his lead in the heat with a perfectly timed wave 360.

Not wanting to miss out on the opportunity of a life-time Victor Fernandez Lopez (Fanatic / North / MFC) stole the show on the jumping front pulling the first double forward loop of the day. Scott McKercher (Starboard / Severne) demonstrated his incredible cut backs on the largest waves of the heat and Francisco Casas Garcia (Starboard / MFC) spent the majority of the heat in the air with his super clean stalled forward loops.

Cisco Garcia - PWA Tenerife World Cup 2011 Day 4

In heat two with just twenty minutes to impress the judges, the competition exploded into action seeing new boy to the tour Adam Lewis (Starboard / Point-7) spin around a super risky taka on the steepest section of a wave to earn him early points from the judges.

Alessio Stillrich (Fanatic / North / AL 360) floated around a backloop but was shortly upstaged by Peter Volwater’s (Fanatic / MauiSails) perfectly executed one hand and one footed backloop. Ricardo Campello (JP / NeilPryde / MFC) picked up two waves and rotated around smooth takas in front of the judges. The action really picked up when Marcilio Browne (Fanatic / North / MFC) flew around a double forward loop, followed by Campello, Volwater, Robby Swift (JP / NeilPryde) and Martin Ten Hoeve (Point-7) with their own. The heat finished with a final flurry of action as the sailors went for wave 360’s, backloops and pushloop in the closing seconds.

back loop from Campello - PWA Tenerife World Cup 2011 Day 4

Super consistent Karin Jaggi (Patrik / Severne) opened the women’s heat will a dry forward loop, closely followed by Japan’s Waka Nishida and Iballa Ruano Moreno (Starboard / Severne). Iballa continued her dominance in the heat landing backloops and a stalled forward. Evi Tsape (F2 / North) was a close rival landing a pushloop off a steep ramp. On the wave front, Amanda Beenen (Dakine) clocked up some solid turns however Jaggi picked up the set wave and rode it all the way to the inside blowing the judges away with her slick turns.

With the results announced and the prizes awarded, the sailors were released for the day in order to relax and catch up on sleep after last night’s epic beach party.

Super-session prize winners

Victor Fernandez Lopez (Fanatic / North / MFC) - Double forward loop
Peter Volwater (Fanatic / MauiSails) - Double forward loop
Marcilio Browne (Fanatic / North / MFC) – Double forward loop
Ricardo Campello (JP / NeilPryde / MFC) – Double forward loop
Iballa Ruano Moreno (Starboard / Severne) - Backloop
Evi Tsape (F2 / North) -Pushloop

Wave Rides:
Kauli Seadi (JP / NeilPryde) – Backside 360
Klaas Voget (Fanatic / Simmer / MFC) – Wave 360
Adam Lewis (Starboard / Point-7) - Taka
Karin Jaggi (Patrik / Severne) – Big wave

Campello forward loop - PWA Tenerife World Cup 2011 Day 4

Aleix push loop - PWA Tenerife World Cup 2011 Day 4

Brawzinho tweaked - PWA Pozo World Cup 2012

Brawzinho Back loop - PWA Tenerife World Cup 2011 Day 4

Epic El Medano - PWA Tenerife World Cup 2011 Day 4

Dario Ojeda - 2012 PWA Cold Hawaii World Cup

Adam Lewis - PWA Tenerife World Cup 2011 Day 4

PWA World Tour website