Melges 32 Virgin Islands Sailing Series set for action in BVI

2013 Melges 32 Virgin Islands Sailing Series
The International Melges 32 Class Association (IM32CA) and 2013 Virgin Islands Sailing Series (VISS) Title Sponsor Otterbox is ecstatic to usher in the inaugural, four part Melges 32 Series in the British Virgin Islands. Hosted by Yacht Club Costa Smeralda (YCCS), Virgin Gorda, teams could not possibly be enjoying themselves more.

Racing officially starts on Thursday, February 21, 2013 for the nine-boat strong fleet. The absolute cream of the crop will compete in the BVI poised for great racing, but also prepared to enjoy a robust and diversified events social calendar that will enable every team to taste island life at its finest and most luxurious.

2014 Finn World Masters

Regatta Dia De La Marina

The fleet is fully stacked with the likes of double National Champion Jason Carroll on Argo and North American Champion Ryan DeVos on Volpe. Overall, the fleet boasts heavy and skillful talent from Italy, Puerto Rico, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, the BVI and the USA.

Home court advantage obviously is to be had by BVI resident Mark Plaxton on INTAC Global. 'Great breeze and great sailing, every day.' is to be expected commented Plaxton.

Another brand new owner joins the International Melges 32 fleet in 2013 — Jamie Torres, owner of Smile and Wave from Puerto Rico. Torres' Melges 32 is based in the Islands as well, but admits he's really looking forward to some great competition.

The 2013 Otterbox Melges 32 Virgin Islands Sailing Series consists of three exquisite events and is the first ever of its kind for the progressive sportboat class. Act one of the three-part series, the BVI Sportboat Regatta takes place this weekend, February 21-24, hosted by Yacht Club Costa Smeralda in Virgin Gorda. The second event happens in conjunction with the International Rolex Regatta in the U.S. Virgin Islands on March 22-24, 2013. The grand finale of the Series, the 2013 Caribbean Championship happens in late April on the luxurious and very private Peter Island.

Full Entry List

1.) Jason Carroll/Cameron Appleton; Argo
2.) Dalton DeVos/Morgan Reeser; Delta
3.) Richard Gorranson/Hamish Pepper; Inga from Sweden
4.) Mark Plaxton/Richard Clarke; INTAC
5.) Alex Jackson/Paul Goodison; Leenabarca
6.) Roberto Tomassini Grinover/Vasco Vascotto; Robertissima III
7.) Jamie Torres/Marty Kullman; Smile and Wave
8.) Valentin Zavadnikov, Tommaso Chieffi; Team Synergy
9.) Ryan DeVos/Ed Baird, Volpe

Melges 32 website