Kiwis have their work cut out in Tornados

Part of the 17 strong fleet on the startline for the 2008 Tornado Nationals, Takapuna

The New Zealand contingent are being shown a clean set of transoms by the international fleet at the 2008 Tornado Nationals, a build up regatta to the World Championships being staged later this month off Takapuna.

Only one international competitor is spoiling the clean sweep the Kiwis are making of the tail-end of the fleet.

The regatta is led by Xavier Revil and Christophe Espagnon (FRA), with Roman Hagara and Hans Peter Steinacher (AUT) holing second place overall.

As reigning Olympic champion, Hagara is obviously focussed on taking one of the Olympic Qualifying places available at the 2008 World Championships.

The runners up at the 2007 World Championships, Carolijn Brouwer and Sebbe Godefroid (BEL), in spite of being reasonably familiar with the Takapuna conditions are also suffering a little, lying in 5th place overall.

Top New Zealand crew is Aaron McIntosh and Mark Kennedy, who are in 10th position on the points table. Olympic Gold and Silver medallist, Rex Sellers with crew Nigel Williams lies in 14th place overall - just ahead of his son Brett, sailing with Peter Fyfe.

Conditions for the regatta this far have been light to moderate sea breezes.

Racing concludes on Tuesday, with Sail Auckland starting the following day.

2008 TORNADO NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIPS DAY 3   Results as of 20:47 on February 4, 2008 Overall
Sailed:9, Discards:1, To count:8, Entries:17, Scoring system:My scoring system
1stOpenFRA1Xavier RevilChristophe Espagnon12424131(5)2318
2ndOpenAUT3Roman HagaraHans Peter Steinacher4(10)33122613222
3rdOpenARG1Santiago LangeCarlos Espinola35(6)4541323327
4thOpenFRA5Billy BessonArnaud Jarlegan831673(9)434435
5thOpenBEL7Carolijn BrouwerSebastian Godefroid6125(12)575105341
6thOpenCAN7Oskar JohanssonKevin Stittle2(8)58376845143
7thOpenUSA808John LovellCharlie Ogletree797(13)6842126855
8thOpenFRA71Yannon GuicharditoAlexandre Guyader571018612(18 DNF)77456
9thOpenAUT8Thomas ZajacThomas Czajka96972(10)10766656
10thNZNZL121Aaron McIntoshMark Kennedy1048109(12)5987563
11thNZNZL8Bruce KendallBlair Tuke11(13)121210911101310188
12thOpenCHN58You Jia LaoXiu Ke Chen(15)1114151111812910691
13thNZNZL73Dave ShawSusan Shaw1212111114141411(15)11499
14thNZNZL84Rex SellersNigel Williams14(15)1391515151511122107
15thNZNZL1Brett SellersPeter Fyfe1314(18 DNF)141313131314125107
16thNZNZL70David MeadChris Burgess1616151616(18 DNF)161416143125
17thNZNZL83William CaunceLiam Caunce1717(18 DNS)171718 DNF18 DNC18 DNC18 DNC158140
Scoring codes used
DNCDid not come to the starting area
DNFStarted but did not finish
DNSCame to the start area but did not start