Hayling Island sailors win SB3 World title

Sb3 Worlds 2008 - Geoff Carveth, Roger Gilbert, Sarah Allan, Roz Allen
Gareth Craig (Fotosail)

Geoff Carveth and his Hayling Island crew of Roger Gilbert, Sarah Allan and Roz Allen have been crowned champions at the inaugural Laser SB3 World Championships in Dun Laoghaire after a high-pressure finish in Dublin Bay. After an early dogfight with his closest rivals in the final race, Carveth pulled off a stunning comeback from the bottom half of the fleet to finish second and take the world title.

As far as World Championships go, it was a stunning debut for the Laser SB3 class, a week of blissful weather finishing in a nail-biting climax during the final race.

First race of the day went to an Irish skipper, Peter O’Leary, who would finish top Irish boat in eighth overall.

Then, as the thirteenth race of the series loomed, the overnight leader, Craig Burlton, saw his luck turn when a disastrous 58th place put him twelve points adrift of the lead and out of the reckoning heading into the final two races.

As the countdown began, the top three were gunning for each other and ended up way down the pecking order after hawkish pre-start combat. Carveth, who led by two points going into the last race, describes how the final race played out:

'David Hudson was in the picture and Dave Lenz put a first in during the morning race which then meant he became very strong, and he became the main issue. He was definitely the man we had to worry about. 'We all had a pretty bad start, then we did a 360-degree penalty, and of course that put us that bit further behind.'

'We got to the top mark in the thirties, pretty deep, but David wasn’t that far ahead of us and then Dave Lenz was behind us. That first downwind leg, we were the first boat to go high and hot, and we went from 30th to sixth on that downwind leg, and that was it then, we knew we were safe, as safe could be, as long as we didn’t make silly mistakes.'

Carveth, finishing second, put more distance between himself and Lenz, who finished 28th, and with Dave Hudson six back in eighth place, the title looked to be theirs.

However, with several boats being caught for false starts during the week, the champagne was put on ice on Carveth’s boat and celebrations were muted.

SB3 Worlds 2008 - 1st Geaff Carveth sailing Earls Court Boat Show
Gareth Craig (Fotosail)
'Although we were aware that we could win, there was also another eight people that could win this morning,' said Carveth, which meant that calculating the points made for mixed emotions. 'Absolute relief, and joy, but as soon as we crossed the line it wasn’t like ‘Woo hoo!’, it was more ‘Let’s just think about this’, what if we were black flagged, what if, what if?'

By the time Carveth came on shore, however, his name was already being etched on the trophy.

'We’re absolutely over the moon about it,' said Carveth, paying tribute to his crew, who all fly off with him to another event which starts in England on Saturday morning. 'It’s really been a massive team effort. Roger Gilbert, who’s been pointing us around the course, is something else to sail with. I have to give him and the girls a lot of the credit.'

Silver fleet glory goes to Ireland, with John Driscoll’s crew taking the overall win.

And as celebrations kick off, the National Yacht Club can put a feather in its cap for having hosted the most smoothly-run event in the country this year.

SB3 Worlds - Gold fleet - Final overall positions

1GBR3053 Geoff Carveth32-168211689-148228252pts
2RSA3451 David Hudson164-17112173-1811123810469pts
3GBR3106 David Lenz4-77475356-328212811980pts
4GBR3042 Craig Burlton1-1725131344252-58101015580pts
5GBR3231 Tim Fells2411-67873132113-275317581pts
6GBR3465 Jerry Hill26-3825978114617-27515691pts
7AUS3469 Daniel Geoghegan41595-2349141321-246614497pts
8IRL3307 Peter O Leary731615286-18142121-171313499pts
9GBR3082 Mark Richards6313-20217161731-4289166104pts
10GBR3475Mike Budd31141-17192320-4221426164105pts
11GBR3057 Martin Boatman125153111619-29-39592319196128pts
12GBR3517 Colin Simonds14-19871241813527-675181218132pts
13IRL3500 Peter Kennedy65324515164-448201813-38219137pts
14GBR3152 Guy Jackson-351015113251495-313015716226160pts
15GBR3134 Jono Shelley8181461262-23221416-482915233162pts
16UAE3360 Hannes Waimer17149133-67132124179420-31262164pts
17GBR3027 Chris Darling-272221842127163438-4323239169pts
18GBR3039 Marshal King22-252258104142-4910114224248174pts
19GBR3467 Mark Rushall1174881110-139-4722282836242182pts
20GBR3508Nick Phillips191192018-31872644-5710147281193pts
21IRL3433 Gareth Flannigan82412-3413-6725171532863421307206pts
22ITA3543Caresani Roberto28911291627-4010-534733117303210pts
23GBR3527Richard Stenhouse( )1618111571519123642038-45323211pts
24GBR3509Nico Honor161652221221224-261722-5446294214pts
25IRL3281 Sean Craig332536410-3532737343-5822318225pts
26IRL3279 Aidan O'Connell17283227-4516-3827538172512309226pts
27GBR3546Richard Catchpole13139212418-2718122636309-40296229pts
28POR3506Fernando Belo24-26137133172625-635113374322233pts
29FRA3024 Luc Videau39-67-671338181133161119261225395261pts
30GBR3302 Ian Sullivan25-3461514303225193426-672414365264pts
31GBR3149 Mark Gillett2615172610-35201133242419-4943352268pts
32GBR3031 Christina Summerhayes7819412819-48462115-53162229372271pts
33POR3256 Peter Stratton32-6723262163221192317-623518402273pts
34GBR3336 Adrian Peach10-282714692817646-59373044361274pts
35NZL3287 Ben Duncan911-351917173229240-61143649371275pts
36GBR3021 Charlie Whelan2792816192136-4139603315-67384276pts
37IRL3232Stefan Hyde-40183514420238114152-671634383276pts
38GBR3462 Paul Lovejoy5861827-41951545354957-61381279pts
39IRL3490 Daragh Sheridan-5322373365311530-4229313227393298pts
40GBR3047 Ben Ainsworth16( )39212633121011944-604437429302pts
41IRL3551Ronan Collins514738-39232312535335151-55400306pts
42IRL3283 Gordon Patterson12-67313110-67262330126395633443309pts
43IRL3240 Ger Owens28234510-573420884405240-67436312pts
44IRL3501 Emma McDonald181313-6772824-67323037235335447313pts
45ITA3187 Luca Bacci -67282991612-6712231054596020466332pts
46IRL3257 Colin Galavan191720-462512393034-5146252641431334pts
47GBR3060 Stewart Reed102118425261627-3155493452-67435337pts
48GBR3154 Jeremy Entwistle21272410161321-2913-6462405048438345pts
49GBR3292 Scott Graham38273429142522-4439-6515572130460351pts
50GBR3081 Jonno Brech1841-5330271719372029234646-55461353pts
51GBR3216 Dave Best3549-50183430183246018-671159476359pts
52GBR3038Duncan Pryde21-532539291423343654-55321939473365pts
53IRL3322 Robert Cahill42-6710351122211228-6144504552500372pts
54TBA3542Kaity Storck30323030-511336142048-56293954482375pts
55IRL3298 Ruselle McGovern26213124472729-50938394147-64493379pts
56IRL3324 Kieran Dorgan132927-3515292916175845-764167497386pts
57IRL3280 Michael Ennis31361722-49323422294341-564832492387pts
58IRL3272 Christian Donagh1122374233203034-52525047-6711508389pts
59GBR3204 Martin Wadsworth94350-514338182010284335-6757512394pts
60GBR3044 Davit Atkinson-51424428223373128-5925443358505395pts
61GBR3388 Chris King3123193331-35113518-6248365956497400pts
62IRL3260 Adam Winkelmann-482026291994339353358-616147528419pts
63GBR3510 Richard Wharram4335331229372220-47563253-6753539425pts
64IRL3253 Des Faherty / Michael Evans38122637-472126272750-64546250541430pts
65IRL3059 David Barry243025283040-411518576355-6762555447pts
66GBR3079 Ann Jackson1510441246-48333937-6665455560575461pts