Eugeniy Neugodnikov is the new Eurosaf Champion

Eugeny Neugodnikov
Russia's Eugeniy Neugodnikov is the new Eurosaf European Match Racing Champion and Yava Trophy winner after an emphatic victory on his home waters in Moscow.

The finals of EuroSaf European Match Racing Championship Yava Trophy 2008 appeared to be short, dynamic and interesting. Tough competition for the title of European Champion was expected, but Eugeniy Neugodnikov (RUS) beat Manuel Weiller Vidal (ESP) in emphatic fashion, winning the final 3-0. Neugodnikov won the main trophy of the Championship, the Piraterne Trophy. Nick Cherry (GBR) won two races against last year's Yava Trophy winner Staffan Lindberg (FIN) in the petit-finals and took third place in the Championship.

Right after the finals the fleet race was held. The best eight skippers with their crews and VIP guests participated. By that time Peter Wibroe 's (DEN) crew members have already gone home, but the Race Committee suggested to the skipper racing with an all-female crew. It consisted of the Race Committee members – two race officers from the starting boat, Natalia Fedorova and Nina Musikhina, another race officer Elena Morozova and the chief secretary of the event Yana Dobzhitskaya. They ended up taking eighth place, but proved the most popular team amongst the spectators watching the race.

The crew of Ãlvaro Marinho (POR) led for most of the fleet race, but he didn't read the Sailing Instructions correctly and tried to finish a leg early. It was too late when he realized his error and his competitors had left him way behind. In the end, the fleet race winner was Tomislav Basic (CRO). Neugodnikov took the second place, whilst Jelle Roos (NED) finished third.

There were many kind words said and congratulations during the prizegiving ceremony where the medals and cups were awarded. A banquet, festive concert and dancing followed the official part of the ceremony.

Results -