Col and Meldgaard-Petersen win Berlin Match Race

(c) Stephan Zimmermann - Berlin Match Race

The Infiniti Berlin Match Race took place from October 29 to 2 November, on Wannsee, Berlin. Originally planned as a one-time event to celebrate the 125. anniversary of Berlin's two oldest sailing clubs (Verein Seglerhaus am Wannsee and Berliner Yacht Club), this year the event took place for the seventeenth time.

Just elevated to the rank of a Grade 1 event by the International Sailing Association (ISAF), the Berlin Match Race is now a leading event of its kind, along with the Match Race Germany in Langenargen (Bodensee).

Parallel to the Match Race sailed by Men, 2008 also sees the first international Women Match Race come into existence. This first-time event has been granted the status of an ISAF Grade 2 event.

Report from the last day of racing.

Fear crept over the racing committee this morning as more and more fog covered Lake Wannsee before the finals of the Infiniti Berlin Match Race. In addition winds were non-existent, forcing Head of racing committee Axel Paul to wait.

Alongside sailors and racing committee, around 3000 spectators on overcrowded boats sponsored by Riller & Schanauck and Spreeradio 105,5, waited for wind throughout the morning. As usual, just when a decision had been felled, wind came.

In the women’s finals Lotte Meldgaard-Petersen proved worthy of her rank as third on the international ranking-list, winning the Infiniti Women’s Match Race 2008 with clear advantage. Second and third places are occupied by Anne Claire Le Berre (FRA) Camilla Ulrikkeholm (DEN) respectively.

Sebastien Col came first in the Men’s Match race, ahead of Philippe Presti (both FRA).

Womens Match Racing podium (c) Stephan Zimmermann - Berlin Match Race

Mens Match Racing podium(c) Stephan Zimmermann - Berlin Match Race
Day 3 report:

Unfortunately the finals tomorrow will be taking place without German participation. Four men are qualified for the semi finals: Damien Iehl, Philippe Presti, Sebastien Col (all FRA) and last years winner Jesper Radich (DEK). Kathrin Kadelbach as well as five-time winner Markus Wieser (both VsaW) and Stefan Meister (YCBG) did not have the means to defeat their high-ranking competitors from the World Match Racing Tour.

The Ladies will have an all Danish finals with Lotte Meldgaard-Petersen, third of the World Ranking List, and her compatriot Camilla Ulrikkeholm.