Club Marine NZ National Keelboat Nationals Entries

Platu racing at the 2006 Worlds
Event Media
Entries have now been finalised for the 2008 Club Marine NZ National Keelboat Championships to be held from 12 to 16 November 2008 and hosted by the Royal Akarana Yacht Club.

The regatta is also notable as the first for RAYC’s new 11-boat fleet of one design Platu 25 keelboats, whose official launch will be held after the National Keelboat Championships briefing.

A full field of twenty teams have been accepted. The field including Emirates Team New Zealand with Dean Barker at the helm, the 2007 National Platu 25 Champion of Thailand, Scott Duncanson, and Andrew Wills who is the 2008 NZ National Champion in both the Young 88 and Farr 1020 classes.

The regatta is heating up to be very competitive with many high profile skippers. Nearly every skipper is a current or recent NZ National Champion and most skippers have competed at Olympic or World Championship level.

As at press time two spots were awaiting the final nominations which are subject to selection trials while RAYC is holding one final spot for a very high profile NZer yet to be confirmed.

Platu racing at the 2006 Worlds
Event Media

Platu racing at the 2007 Worlds
Event Media
Confirmed entries are:

1. Defending Champion Roger Pagani
2. Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron Andrew Wills
3. New Caledonia, Cercle Natique Caledonien Patrick Baldi
4. Emirates Team New Zealand Dean Barker
5. Wellington Yachting Association, Royal Port Nicholson Yacht Club Josh Junior
6. Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron Simon Dickey
7. Thailand, Ocean Marina Yacht Club Scott Duncanson
8. NZ International Etchell Class Association Derek Scott
9. Bay of Plenty Yachting Association, Tauranga Yacht & Power Boat Club Ross Currie
10. New Zealand Elliott 5.9 Association Peter Burling
11. International 470 Class Association of NZ Geoff Woolley
12. Young 88 Owners Association of NZ Jacko Van Deventer
13. Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron Laurie Jury
14. Takapuna Boating Club Melinda Henshaw
15. Flying Fifteen NZ Incorporated Association Craig Coulam
16. Buckland’s Beach Yacht Club TBC
17. New Zealand Platu 25 Association TBC
18. Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron Scott Dickson
19. Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron Phil Robertson
20. Royal Akarana Yacht Club Rod Dawson

Practice day for the teams is on Wednesday 12 November, with the first pool racing at 0900hrs on Thursday 13 November.

Spectator viewing is available from anywhere along Tamaki Drive from Orakei to St Heliers while a small number of boats may be available to take spectators out to the race course. Video footage and photos will be show in the RAYC club rooms after racing each day, and anyone is welcome to come down to the club whilst the racing is on.

For more information see or contact Tash Paget on 09 524 9945 or