Australian University Fleet Racing Championships preview

2011 start line - Australian University Fleet Racing Championships 2012
Katie Webb
The Australian University Fleet Racing Championships 2012, taking place off the waters of Pittwater from 13th to 15th April, have attracted 36 entries from various parts of the country (New South Wales, Canberra, Newcastle, Victoria, Queensland and Tasmania).

UTS, Sydney Uni, UNSW, Macquarie, UOW, ANU, QUT, Monash and UWA will be fighting to be crowned the 2012 Australian University National Fleet Racing Champion.

The Regatta is being organised by the Australian University Sailing Association and the club hosting these championships is the prestigious Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club. The event is a sanctioned Australian University Sport event and the standards of conduct has been approved by Yachting Australia.

The regatta is open to all classes of boats including dinghies, skiffs and sailboards. A boats handicap will be determined by the VYC yard stick system

The championship is being sponsored by UTS Sailing Club and NB Sail Sports.

Event website