Argo Group Gold Cup - Canfield and USOne lead

an Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar and Johnie Berntsson (SWE) Stena Sailing Team
At the Argo Group Gold Cup, Taylor Canfield (ISV) USone, the reigning champion and number one in the ISAF Open Rankings leads Group one. Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar, number two by ISAF, current leader on the Alpari World Match Racing Tour heads up Group two. Both are past King Edward VII Gold Cup winners.

The unranked ‘wildcard’ Sir Ben Ainslie (GBR) Ben Ainslie Racing Team (BART), sponsored by Argo Group— a two-time winner of the Gold Cup, five time Olympic medalist and 2013 America’s Cup winner— fell into Group two with countryman Williams. Mathieu Richard (FRA) GEFCO Match Racing Team, another previous Gold Cup winner, also landed in Group two.

Adam Minoprio (NZL) Team Alpari FX is seeded second in Group one. He is ranked 33 by ISAF because he has been relatively inactive in match racing outside of the Tour events and hasn’t accumulated points. Minoprio is tied with Canfield in the number two spot on the Tour. He was knocked out in the 2012 Quarter Finals by Williams.

Also in Group one is Johnie Berntsson (SWE) Stena Sailing Team. He was the 2008 Gold Cup winner and was beaten by Canfield in the 2012 finals. Berntsson likes the IODs and will be looking for his first win on the Tour this year.

Stage one for the Gold Cup is the Qualifying Round-Robin. Each team will race each of the other teams in its group once. The top four from each group move up to the Quarter Final Series. The Quarter Finals are a ‘first to three points’ knock out series.

Ian Williams (GBR) and Adam Minoprio (NZ) at the the start of one of their matches. WIlliams won 3-0 and goes through to the Semis

Bruni leading Richard in the 2011 Argo Group Gold Cup at the Royal Bermuda Yacht club in Hamilton Bermuda.

Semi final racing between Ben Ainslie and Ian Williams.

Taylor Canfield (USVI) checks the time before the start of the final match with Johnie Berntsson (SWE) in the finals of the Argo Gold Cup 2012.

The winners in the Quarters move on to the Semi Finals. They are also ‘first to three points’ knock outs. The Quarter and Semi Finals are scheduled for Friday and Saturday. The ‘first to two points’ Petite Finals and ‘first to three points’ Finals are scheduled for Sunday.

Taylor CanfieldUSoneISV
Adam MinoprioTeam Alpari FXNZL
Keith SwintonBlack Swan RacingAUS
Johnie BerntssonStena Sailing TeamSWE
Francesco BruniLuan RossaITA
Simone FerrareseFerrarese Racing TeamITA
Eric MonninSwiss Match Race TeamSUI
Marek Stanczyk POL
Christopher PooleRiptide RacingUSA
Lance FraserDigicel BusinessBER
Ian WilliamsTeam GAC PindarGBR
Bjorn HanseneWork Sailing TeamSWE
Phil RobertsonWAKA RacingNZL
Mathieu RichardGEFCO Match Racinag TeamFRA
Pierre-Antoine MorvanVannes Agglo Sailing TeamFRA
Ben AinslieBen Ainslie Racing TeamGBR
William TIllerFull Metal JacketNZL
Nicolai SebestedTREFORDEN
Chris Steele36 Below RacingNZL
Joshua GreensladeRBYC Sailing AcademyBER