Alex Roepers wins the 2014 Rolex Farr 40 North American Championship

Alex Roepers’ (far right) celebrates his first major win with the crew on Plenty. - Rolex Farr 40 North American Championship 2014
Rolex Farr 40 North American Championship 2014 - Long Beach, Calif. – Determining the 2014 Rolex North American Champion came down to the 10th and final race of the series that was held over four days (May 14-17) from Long Beach Yacht Club, as conditions rebounded to allow the race committee to run three races on the last day of the regatta.

Helmut Jahn’s Flash Gordon 6 (bow 04) leads the fleet on the final day of the series. - Rolex Farr 40 North American Championship 2014

With an earlier start time, the fleet sailed into the offshore haze which gave way to patches of blue sky as the first race got underway at 11:15 in a seven-and-a-half knot southwesterly breeze with puffs registering between ten and eleven knots.

Chicago’s Helmut Jahn, the 2012 Farr 40 World Champion on Flash Gordon 6, was leading the fleet through the bottom gate followed by Ray Godwin’s Temptress, Wolfgang Schaefer’s Struntje light, Gary Ezor’s Coquille and Alex Roepers’ Plenty. Jahn, who had come into the final day of the series tied for second in the overall standings, went on to win the race, his first of the series, and took the overall lead with 29 points. Roepers on Plenty, finished third for 31 points, while Shaefer finished eighth on Struntje light to drop in the standings on 33 points.

In race two, the 19-strong fleet was split fairly evenly in picking which side of the course to take coming out of the gate. Plenty led the fleet around the course and took her fourth win of the series to move back to the top of the leaderboard with 32 points. Jahn finished fourth to drop to second overall with 33 points, followed in the standings by John Demourkas’ Groovederci with 42 points, after a second-place finish, and Schaefer’s Struntje light with 44 points after finishing the race back in 11th place.

With the only one point separating Roepers and Jahn, the final race of the series was started with boats jockeying for position in the nine-and-a-half knot breeze. Demourkas and Schaefer, who were third and fourth, respectively, in the overall standings, were both over early putting an end to any hopes they had for a championship title.

That left Roepers and Jahn to fight the final battle and when Roepers took his fifth win of the series, he clinched his first major class title. Jahn, finishing second, took second overall just two points back with 35 points. Demourkas came back from the over early to place eighth in the race and take the last spot on the podium with 50 points. Italy’s Alberto Rossi on Enfant Terrible was fourth overall with 55 points, followed by Annapolis’ Kevin McNeil on Nightshift with 59. Struntje light was unable to recover from the over early and finished the series sixth overall at 63 points.

'We’re joking now that all this releasing and tightening of the backstay may have not been necessary for all these years because we did just fine with the backstay in one position for the whole race,' said Alex Roepers in reference to the hydraulic failure on Plenty that took place on the way to the race course this morning. 'In one word it feels fantastic to be the North American champion. It’s been a long haul for me. I started in the class in 2007 and this is the first major win for team Plenty. To finally put it together to win this event is fantastic.'

Alex Roepers’ PLENTY (bow 14) leads on the downwind leg. - Rolex Farr 40 North American Championship 2014

Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4   Rolex Farr 40 North American Championship preliminary cumulative results /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin-top:0in; mso-para-margin-right:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt; mso-para-margin-left:0in; line-height:115%; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-bidi-font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

Bow Sail NumberYacht NameYacht DesignOwner/SkipperRace
North American Championship Racing

One Design Division

Farr 40

1.14USA 60059PlentyFarr 40Alexander Roepers 251911931133.0

2.4USA 60002Flash Gordon 6Farr 40Helmut Jahn 444472314235.0

3.9USA 7289GroovederciFarr 40John Demourkas 866357142850.0

4.5ITA 29141Enfant TerribleFarr 40Alberto Rossi 11106311676455.0

5.12USA 40076NightshiftFarr 40Kevin McNeil 7822495910359.0

6.15GER 40Struntje lightFarr 40Wolfgang Schaefer 62712348111963.0

7.6MEX 28269Flojito y CooperandoFarr 40Bernardo Minkow / Julian Fernandez 316/ZFP38910268570.0

8.3USA 80808Dark StarFarr 40Jeff Janov 53858411183772.0

9.1USA 37Blade 2Farr 40Michael Shlens 11951061710107691.0

10.16USA 40050TemptressFarr 40Ray Godwin 14716111361551510112.0

11.2USA 1211CoquilleFarr 40Gary Ezor 121691512131221211114.0

12.19USA 51044Skian DhuFarr 40Dirk Freeland 101012121614713914117.0

13.11USA 46957JoAnnFarr 40Steve Murphy 13111471451319518119.0

14.8USA 50060FoilFarr 40Gordon Leon 161313131088121812123.0

15.17USA 888White KnightFarr 40Zoltan Katinszky 920/ZFP111415121611169133.0

16.20USA 40046TwistedFarr 40M. Tony Pohl 181420/ZFP16111818151415159.0

17.22USA 131Viva La VidaFarr 40Will Durant 1720/RAF1918171519141313165.0

18.10USA 8881Huckleberry3Farr 40Jim Murrell 15171819191614161917170.0

19.7USA 104FlyerFarr 40Stanford Shaw 191515171820/DNS17171716171.0

Event website