42 US Sailing Team members revealed + Video

US Sailing Team Sperry Top Rider logo U.S.
. .
US Sailing has named forty-two Olympic and Paralympic class athletes to the 2014 US Sailing Team Sperry Top-Sider. The national team is selected annually and is comprised of the top sailors competing in the events selected for the Rio de Janeiro 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Olympic class athletes qualified for the team at their 2013 class world championships and at ISAF Sailing World Cup Miami in early February 2014. Paralympic class athletes qualified during ISAF Sailing World Cup Miami. US Sailing provides the members of the 2014 US Sailing Team Sperry Top-Sider with financial, logistical, coaching, technical, fitness, marketing and communications support.

'As we build towards The Games in 2016, we are pleased to announce the members of the 2014 team, and are focused on supporting our athletes to the highest degree possible,' said Josh Adams, Managing Director of US Olympic Sailing. 'This is a critical year of the Olympic Quadrennium, culminating in the Rio Olympic Test Event and the ISAF Combined World Championships in Santander, Spain.'

The members of the 2014 US Sailing Team Sperry Top-Sider (listed by class):

Athlete (Hometown)


Danny Evans (Miami, Fla.)

Charles Rosenfield (Woodstock, Ct.)

470 Men:

Stuart McNay (Providence, R.I.) and David Hughes (Miami, Fla.)
Jordan Factor (Burlington, Vt.) and Matthew Wefer (Glen Head, N.Y.)

470 Women:

Annie Haeger (East Troy, Wisc.) and Briana Provancha (San Diego, Calif.)
Sydney Bolger (Long Beach, Calif.) and Carly Shevitz (Santa Barbara, Calif.)

Brad Funk (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) and Trevor Burd (Marblehead, Mass.)

Fred Strammer (Nokomis, Fla.) and Zach Brown (San Francisco/San Diego, Calif.)


Kristen Lane (San Francisco, Calif.) and Maggie Shea (Chicago, Ill.)
Genny Tulloch (San Francisco, Calif.) and Kathleen Tocke (Buffalo, N.Y./Newport R.I.)

Molly Vandemoer (Stanford, Calif.)


Caleb Paine (San Diego, Calif.)
John F. Dane (Pass Christian, Miss.)


Charlie Buckingham (Newport Beach, Calif.)

Chris Barnard (Newport Beach, Calif.)

Laser Radial:

Paige Railey (Clearwater, Fla.)

Erika Reineke (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)

Nacra 17:
Robbie Daniel (Clearwater, Fla.) and Catherine Shanahan (St. Petersburg, Fla.)
Sarah Newberry (Miami, Fla.) and John Casey (Longwood, Fla.)

RS:X Men:
Carson Crain (Houston, Texas)

Jonathan Rudich (Clearwater, Fla.)

RS:X Women:

Farrah Hall (Annapolis, Md.)
Marion Lepert (Belmont, Calif.)


Ryan Porteous (Pacific Beach, Calif.) and Cindy Walker (Plymouth, Mass.)
Sarah Everhart Skeels (Tiverton, R.I.) and Gerry Tiernan (Falmouth, Maine)


Rick Doerr (Clifton, N.J.), Tim Angle (Reading, Mass.), Hugh Freund (South Freeport, Maine.)

Andrew Fisher (Greenwich, Conn.) and Bradley Johnson (Pompano Beach, Fla.)

US Sailing