30th Australian Impulse Championships Largs Bay, South Australia

2013/2014 Australian Champion Paul Farrell
Brian Outram
The 30th Australian Impulse National Championships were conducted at the Largs Bay Sailing Club, South Australia, between the 29th of December 20013 and the fourth of January 2014.

43 entrants from NSW, QLD, VIC, SA and the ACT attended the highly competitive series which was contested over nine heats in varying conditions.

There were five different heat winners, and leading into the last day of sailing, four boats had a realistic chance of taking out the title.

The eventual winner, and winning his third Australian Impulse Title, was Victorian Paul Farrell in his boat, 'Mr Plow'. He was closely followed by Queenslander Dave Harrison in 'Cosmosoarus' and in third place was local South Australian sailor Tony Wild in 'Piranha Boat'

The next major Impulse regattas for the season includes the Victorian and Southern State Championships, to be held at the Chelsea Yacht Club over the Victorian Labour Day long weekend, and the Eastern States Championships to be held at the Richmond River Sailing Club (Ballina) over the Anzac Day long weekend.

Perin HARDIE sailing "Greensheep"-Impulse National Championshps Largs Bay
Brian Outram

Matt DRAPER sailing "The Dilemma"- Impulse National Championships Largs Bay
Brian Outram

Mike ROBINSON (507) leading a bunch of Impulses-Largs Bay National Championships
Brian Outram

Dave HARRISON (570) Roger KENNETT (637) and Tony WILD (571)- Largs Bay National Championshps
Brian Outram

The 31st Australian Impulse Championships, are shaping up to be a highly anticipated event, and are to be hosted by the Queensland Impulse Association at the Keppel Bay Sailing Club, Yeppoon, over the Christmas/New Year Period 2014/2015.

Australian Impulse website