2014 Lido 14 National Class Championship - Day 2

Chris Raab (l) fights off Christophe Killian (r) to win Race three in their furious tacking duel to the finish line
Rich Roberts
2014 Lido 14 National Class Championship - For a while Saturday the 2014 Lido 14 National Class Championship at Alamitos Bay Yacht Club was building to a Sunday showdown between Chris Raab, who won Friday's Qualification competition and two of Saturday's fleet races, and young Christophe Killian, the defending champion who had three seconds before finishing first in Saturday's sixth and final race.

It may still happen, but both would have to do it the hard way.

The drama changed critically when each returned to the dock moments at day's end to learn they had been disqualified for jumping the start line in the last race---OCS (on course side) the penalty is called.

Peter Beale and crew Lisa Baertein chase the leaders downwind
Rich Roberts

Both claimed they were not over early, but both of their appeals were denied by the race jury meeting them in closed hearings. They each had to eat penalties of 24 points, dropping them into fourth and sixth places before today's last six scheduled races.

Smile time! Shown winning Race four, Kevin Thomas and crew Amanda Wayne lead the Gold fleet after six races
Rich Roberts

That left ABYC's own Kevin Thomas and crew Amanda Wayne with a strlng of single digit finishes (five – nine – four – one – eight - two) and a three-point lead over ABYC's Bruce Golison and crew Dina Corsi. Raab is now 10 points off the lead, four ahead of Killian.

It should be an interesting Sunday.

As for Thomas and Wayne, they were stunned to be on top, even if the latter is a chairperson of the event, as is Golison---and please don't read anything into that.

Bruce Golison (r) held off
Rich Roberts

'We learned about it when we got to the dock,' Wayne said. 'It was like, 'What are you talking about?' '

It was especially surprising to Thomas that it happened in very tricky light (mostly five knots) and shifty southeast breeze wafting over the small bay.

'We usually do better in bigger wind,' he said, 'and this fleet is so deep in talent with all the world champions and the like.'

Killian said he knew he was over the line 'with 30 seconds to go, but we took a quick dive and got back below the line before the start.'

After their tacking duel, Raab beats Killian by half a boat length
Rich Roberts

Raab said, 'I was behind [fellow ABYC member] Chuck Clay on his transom with Golison to weather, and he wasn't over, either. I know to stay behind the line.'

Otherwise, despite the ugly conditions, the pair displayed the best action of the event with a fierce tacking duel toward the finish of Saturday's third race. The veteran Raab, a four-time winner of this event, held off his 17-year-old rival to win by half a boat length.

Gabriel Ferramola crosses the competition in Silver fleet
Rich Roberts

Final racing Sunday will start at 11:30 a.m., conditions permitting.

The event organizers thank Jake Sorosky from Quantum Sails, Simmzy’s of Long Beach, Gresham Boards and the ABYC Junior program for their donations.

The pelicans also got into the fun
Rich Roberts

The leaders

(After six of twelve races; no discards)

Gold fleet
(23 boats)

1. Kevin Thomas/Amanda Wayne, ABYC, 5-9-4-1-8-2, 29 points.
2. Bruce Golison/Dina Corsi, ABYC, 16-2-3-5-5-1, 32.
3. Mark Ryan/Sarah Schaupeter, ABYC/Leeway Sailing Center, 14-3-12-2-1-5, 37.
4. Chris Raab/Scott McKeiver, Newport Harbor YC/ABYC, 3-1-1-7-3-24/OCS, 39.

Silver fleet:
(22 boats)

1. Gabriel Ferramola/Melody Wong, 1-3-1-8-4-2, 31.
2. Bill Moore/Derrick Buczynski, ABYC, 4-12-3-6-1-1, 27.
3. Jeff Merrill/Pam Merrill, ABYC, 5-4-2-1-11-8, 31.

2014 Lido 14 National Class Championship Final Cumulative Results:

    Sail NumberYacht NameYacht DesignSkipper/CrewRace
Alamitos Bay, CA Racing
 One Design Division
  Lido 14 Gold Fleet
  1.USA 3883Short BusLido 14Kevin Thomas / Amanda Wayne59418229.0
  2.USA 26652665Lido 14Bruce Golison / Dina Corsi162355132.0
  3.USA 2506Orin BLido 14Mark Ryan / Sarah Schaupeter1431221537.0
  4.USA 4732LG OneLido 14Chris Raab / Scott McKeiver3117324/OCS39.0
  5.USA 40724072Lido 14Bob Little / Lisa Little1611412640.0
  6.USA 5100White StarLido 14Christophe Killian / Jack Martin2528224/OCS43.0
  7.USA 6288Lido LoveLido 14Walter Johnson / Jessica8197126860.0
  8.USA 61346134Lido 14Mark Golison / Beth Golison111053201261.0
  9.USA 4706ClassicLido 14Kevin Kirk / Susannah Kirk61781116462.0
  10.USA 5024Full Tilt BoogieLido 14Kevin Taugher / Katie Taugher71361791466.0
  11.USA 374726 in SpanishLido 14Chuck Clay / Gavin McJones181116194371.0
  12.USA 4339Close ShaveLido 14John Gresham / Tessa Bookwalter24/OCS815910773.0
  13.USA 4794ANGRY aNGELLido 14Chris Vilicich / Greg Dair421136171576.0
  14.USA 6300Man CaveLido 14Steve Klotz / Andrew Klotz971424/OCS15978.0
  15.USA 3734BlueLido 14Keith Ives / brooke jolly13221018111185.0
  16.USA 1255OrcaLido 14Daniel Gilboa / Mike Shea10142120142099.0
  17.USA 45374537Lido 14Stephen Mueller / Liz Perry15181715211399.0
  18.USA 6297WassailLido 14Porter Killian / Jack Joslin1724/OCS924/OCS719100.0
  19.USA 6277Blue PhoenixLido 14Paul Makielski / Jacob Makielski122020131916100.0
  20.USA 6337LidoMosquitoLido 14Charles Smith / Joanna Warren Smith191519161318100.0
  21.USA 4310Dodge ThisLido 14Grant Hill / Tyler Webster2142224/OCS2210103.0
  22.USA 2720Nui PilikiaLido 14Terry Johnson / Scott Munch201618102317104.0
  23.USA 4029Click!Lido 14Tracy Conn / Mark Stanifer24/OCS1223141821112.0
  Lido 14 Silver Fleet
  1.USA 48274827Lido 14Gabriel Ferramola / Melody Wong13184219.0
  2.USA 5011Perfect MatchLido 14Bill Moore / Derick Buczynski412361127.0
  3.USA 5086LanakilaLido 14Jeff Merrill / Pam Merrill542111831.0
  4.USA 4756NEMOLido 14Kathryn Reed / Susan Lanoe31997332.0
  5.USA 3579BeazerLido 14Paul Button / Ian Button661045435.0
  6.USA 4986Taylor ReneeLido 14Timothy Zimmermann / Dan Avina1326561042.0
  7.USA 29992999Lido 14Peter Beale / Lisa Baertein98779545.0
  8.USA 3166Flip - FlopLido 14Butch Michel / Julia Jaynes81151081254.0
  9.USA 6276Psychotic PenguinLido 14Kim Adam / Daniel McBrearty10108315955.0
  10.USA 872fireflyLido 14Nathan Dalleska / Lindsay Mais111416212661.0
  11.USA 3547BlitzLido 14Harold Ho / Maria Ho713111421461.0
  12.USA 49634963Lido 14Jim Drury / Bruce Wasson1817131131375.0
  13.USA 6125Luff & LaffLido 14Steve Cole / Melinda Howell2091213131178.0
  14.USA 4511BanditoLido 14David Foster / Mark Easterbrook1418201210781.0
  15.USA 6171Lido ShuffleLido 14John Williams / Sara Williams2161516181582.0
  16.USA 3650HomerLido 14Greg Boudreaux / Joe Ridenour155419192082.0
  17.USA 4141NoneLido 14Tom Estlow / karmen estlow1271418201687.0
  18.USA 45094509Lido 14Roger Hinton / Anne Hinton17151715171899.0
  19.USA 5066SuperfandangoLido 14Damon Kunkle / Jeff Ives191921201419112.0
  20.USA 6157Inigo MontoyaLido 14Paul Ogier / Denise Ogier162018172121113.0
  21.USA 4562LynndeeLido 14Earl Thomas / Luke Rosener212119211617115.0
  22.USA 5051Shenanigans TooLido 14Tracey Kenney23/DNC23/DNC23/DNC23/DNC23/DNC23/DNC138.0