2014 Detroit Cup - Morvan wins

Pierre-Antoine Morvan and the Vannes Agglo Sailing Team with the Detroit Cup - Detroit Cup
Isao Toyoma
2014 Detroit Cup - In masterful display of (nearly) error-free match race sailing, Pierre-Antoine Morvan and his Vannes Agglo Sailing Team of Mathie Renault and Steven Liorzou have emerged from four days of battle to be the 2014 Champions of the Detroit Cup. The French team defeated their Semi-Final and Final opponents two - one and three - zero today in front of a spectator crowd lining the Detroit River shoreline in front of the host Bayview Yacht Club.

'This was a tough week of racing, but we really enjoyed our first time sailing here at Bayview,' said Morvan. 'The organizers have done a great job to create a great event.'

Morvan leads out of leeward mark in Finals at Detroit Cup - Detroit Cup
Isao Toyoma

Race conditions today were excellent, with a consistent eight - ten knot breeze offering the fastest and most exciting match racing action of the week among the equally-matched Ultimate 20’s used in the competition. This made superior boathandling and timing vitally important, so the pre-starts were action-packed, as were several close mark roundings, a strong contrast to the last few days of calculated light air sailing.

Morvan and his team excelled at this, always keeping the pressure on their opponents in the pre-starts, and with a slight speed edge upwind they were often able to extend on early leads or catch and pass when behind. This set them up to round the top mark with enough margin to fend off any attacks made downwind.

Maximillian Soh leads Matt Graham in Petit-Finals at Detroit Cup - Detroit Cup
Isao Toyoma

The notable exception to this flawless performance was in the first Semi-final match against Maximillian Soh of Singapore, whose Team Red Dot was successfully controlling the right side of the second upwind leg on their way to maintaining their slim lead over the French. Morvan’s upwind speed brought them close enough in a cross to have to duck Soh on port, and in so doing he mistimed the move and hit Soh so hard on the port quarter to spin both boats around. This earned them a black flag from the umpires of the match, who then awarded the point to Soh.

Despite the severity of the crash, it was determined that the damage was minimal, and so no points were deducted from Morvan’s score. This was a lucky break for the French team, who would otherwise have had to win the next three rather than just the next two in the first-to-two point series to advance to the Finals.

In the other Semi-Final pairing, Chris Poole from the Oakcliff Saling Center defeated Matt Graham in an exciting series that came down to the final match. In this race and with the narrowest of leads, Graham and his Rowdy Racing team from Bayview YC gybed to protect the final approach into the leeward mark rounding, but could not get the spinnaker down before broaching and hitting the mark with their sail, allowing Poole to sail through to the lead and earning them an untimely penalty from the umpires.

Morvan and Poole locked in battle at Finals of Detroit Cup - Detroit Cup
Isao Toyoma

In the Finals, the action was comparatively tame in the first-to-three point series and penalty-free except for one Poole earned in the pre-start of the second match. Morvan simply out-sailed his opponent to win every start and lead around the course in every match to win the series 3-0.

In Petit-Final action, Graham managed to overcome a loss to Soh in the first match by winning the second, but then lost the third in being called over early at the start and not able to recover.

Final results, 2014 Detroit Cup:

1. Pierre-Antoine Morvan (FRA)
2. Chris Poole (USA)
3. Maximillian Soh (SIN)
4. Matt Graham (USA)
5. Sam Gilmour (AUS)
6. Ian Hollerbach (USA)
7. David Storrs (USA)
8. Wataru Sakamoto (JPN)
9. Dustin Durant (USA)
10. Chris Van Tol (USA)
11. Peter Holz (USA)
12. Shane Diviny (IRL)

For more information, visit the event website.

Morvan and many other competitors here at the Detroit Cup will continue with ISAF Grade Two match racing later this week at the third stop of the US Grand Slam series at Manhasset Bay YC’s Knickerbocker Cup in Manhasset Bay, NY. More information on the Grand Slam series can be found here.

Complete Results:
 Overall placings 
1.FRAPierre-Antoine Morvan
2.USAChris Poole
3.SINMaximilian Soh
4.USAMatt Graham
5.AUSSam Gilmour
6.USAIan Hollerbach
7.USADavid Storrs
8.JPNWataru Sakamoto
9.USAChris VanTol
10.USADustin Durant
11.USAPeter Holz
12.IRLShane Diviney
Powered by matchracingresults.com
Pierre-Antoine MorvanPierre-Antoine Morvan, FRA111

Chris PooleChris Poole, USA000

Powered by matchracingresults.com
Petit Final123W
Matt GrahamMatt Graham, USA0101
Maximilian SohMaximilian Soh, SIN1012
Powered by matchracingresults.com
Semi Final 1123W
Chris PooleChris Poole, USA1012
Matt GrahamMatt Graham, USA0101
Powered by matchracingresults.com
Semi Final 2123W
Maximilian SohMaximilian Soh, SIN1001
Pierre-Antoine MorvanPierre-Antoine Morvan, FRA0112
Powered by matchracingresults.com
5th / 6th1W
Ian HollerbachIan Hollerbach, USA00
Sam GilmourSam Gilmour, AUS11
Powered by matchracingresults.com
7th / 8th1W
David StorrsDavid Storrs, USA11
Wataru SakamotoWataru Sakamoto, JPN00
Powered by matchracingresults.com
9th / 10th1W
Chris VanTolChris VanTol, USA00
Dustin DurantDustin Durant, USA11
Powered by matchracingresults.com
11th / 12th1W
Peter HolzPeter Holz, USA11
Shane DivineyShane Diviney, IRL00
Powered by matchracingresults.com
Quarter Final 112345W
Matt GrahamMatt Graham, USA111

Wataru SakamotoWataru Sakamoto, JPN000

Powered by matchracingresults.com
Quarter Final 212345W
Ian HollerbachIan Hollerbach, USA010102
Maximilian SohMaximilian Soh, SIN101013
Powered by matchracingresults.com
Quarter Final 312345W
Pierre-Antoine MorvanPierre-Antoine Morvan, FRA111

David StorrsDavid Storrs, USA000

Powered by matchracingresults.com
Quarter Final 412345W
Sam GilmourSam Gilmour, AUS0100
Chris PooleChris Poole, USA1011
Powered by matchracingresults.com
Overall positions after Round Robin
1.USAMatt Graham9–282%
2.USAIan Hollerbach8–373%
3.FRAPierre-Antoine Morvan8–373%
4.AUSSam Gilmour7–464%
5.USAChris Poole7–464%
6.USADavid Storrs6–555%
7.JPNWataru Sakamoto5–645%
8.SINMaximilian Soh5–645%
9.USAChris VanTol4–736%
10.USADustin Durant4–736%
11.USAPeter Holz2–918%
12.IRLShane Diviney0–110%
Powered by matchracingresults.com
Round RobinPierre-Antoine Morvan, FRASam Gilmour, AUSChris Poole, USAMaximilian Soh, SINWataru Sakamoto, JPNDustin Durant, USADavid Storrs, USAMatt Graham, USAPeter Holz, USAChris VanTol, USAIan Hollerbach, USAShane Diviney, IRLW%
Pierre-Antoine MorvanPierre-Antoine Morvan, FRA
Sam GilmourSam Gilmour, AUS0
Chris PooleChris Poole, USA10
Maximilian SohMaximilian Soh, SIN010
Wataru SakamotoWataru Sakamoto, JPN0001
Dustin DurantDustin Durant, USA01-110
David StorrsDavid Storrs, USA001011
Matt GrahamMatt Graham, USA0111110
Peter HolzPeter Holz, USA10000010
Chris VanTolChris VanTol, USA000001101
Ian HollerbachIan Hollerbach, USA1011101011
Shane DivineyShane Diviney, IRL00000000000
Powered by matchracingresults.com