2011 Paper Tiger North Island Grand Prix Series down to the wire

Waiting for breeze - 2011 New Zealand Paper Tiger North Island Champs
Carl Syman

The 2011 North Island Grand Prix Series is in for an exciting finish this weekend (12-13 March) with the final round being sailed as part of the Mighty River Power Regatta hosted by the Lake Taupo Yacht Club.

The series is down to two strong members of the class, Glenn Syman from Wellington who has been a member of the New Zealand Paper Tiger Team for many years, against Scott Pedersen (Napier), a strong up and coming sailor since his first appearance in the New Zealand Team a couple of years ago.

Pedersen is the defending Champion of the Grand Prix title and looking to take the trophy home for a third consecutive time.

The final spot on the podium is wide open with 10 sailors having a mathematical chance of taking third in a series which has seen 50 sailors from the class compete.

There are also two competitors in the running to claim the prize of a bottle of rum for finishing every race in every regatta in the series.

The Paper Tiger North Island Grand Prix Series is regatta series held over four regattas around the North Island (Lake Wairarapa, Lake Ngaroto, Turangi, and Taupo) during the season.

Points are tallied at each regatta, with no drops allowed at any indiviual regatta (making consistency essential).

The overall series winner is calculated by allowing each sailor to count 3 regattas from the 4 in the series.

w: www.papertiger.org.nz