1O1O 4G Match Racing attracts top notch racers + Video

RHKYC 1O1O 4G Match Racing 2013
1O1O 4G Match Racing International Regatta is organized by Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club (RHKYC). Quadruple world champion Ian Williams (GBR) will be joined in Victoria Harbor by fifth ranked William Tiller (NZL) and David Gilmour, representing Australia. Last year’s runner-up, Vladimir Lipavsky (RUS) will be back for another crack at the title, along with Morten Jakobs, representing Thailand. Maximilian Soh (SIN) and Jon Eriksson (FIN) will compete in International Regatta for the first time, bringing the overseas visitors to seven. One wild card entry is still available.

These luminaries will be joined by Hong Kong’s top four match racing teams, based on the previous weekend’s 1O1O 4G Match Racing Hong Kong Nationals, also organized by RHKYC.

Match racing is a brutal one-on-one sailing contest where the rules aren't used to keep boats apart, instead being used to try and inflict a penalty turn on the opposition. Winning margins are slim and the skills required include a keen knowledge of the racing rules, lightning fast reflexes and nerves of steel as the leader fights with attack after attack from the boat behind. The regatta will pit competitors against each other in a double round robin format, with the top four teams progressing to the knockout stages. The semi-finals will serve to produce the two teams which will contest the grand final.

Competitors (Worlds Ranking)
1. Ian Williams (1) GBR

2. William Tiller (5) NZL

3. David Gilmour (27) AUS

4. Vladimir Lipavsky (30) RUS

5. Morten Jakobs (117) THA

6. Maximilian Soh (148) SIN

7. Jon Eriksson (157) FIN

8. TBC

9. 2013 1O1O 4G Hong Kong Nationals first

10. 2013 1O1O 4G Hong Kong Nationals second

11. 2013 1O1O 4G Hong Kong Nationals third

12. 2013 1O1O 4G Hong Kong Nationals fourth

Chief International Umpire Marianne Middelthon (NOR)

International Umpire Paco Quiñonero (ESP)

International Umpire Masaaki Tanaka (JPN)

Race Officer Inge Strompf-Jepsen (HKG)