Print Page | Close Window

Overlaps, Equipment and Zone

Printed From: Yachts and Yachting Online
Category: General
Forum Name: Racing Rules
Forum Discription: Discuss the rules and your interpretations here
URL: http://www.yachtsandyachting.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=13736
Printed Date: 14 Apr 21 at 5:14pm
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com


Topic: Overlaps, Equipment and Zone
Posted By: jcooper
Subject: Overlaps, Equipment and Zone
Date Posted: 24 Jan 21 at 2:41pm
The definition of an overlap refers to the 'hull and equipment in normal position",  which presumably includes a spinnaker and bowsprit during a downwind leg. 

However at the critical time when approaching the zone around a mark at the end of a downwind leg, boats are dropping their spinnakers and retracting their bowsprits.   So for the purposes of establishing an overlap...its seems that retracting the bowsprit could in fact break an established overlap just at the wrong moment.   

How does this play out in practice?

Is it valid to delay dropping / retracting to ensure an existing overlap is maintained?






Replies:
Posted By: ClubRacer
Date Posted: 24 Jan 21 at 5:40pm
Originally posted by jcooper

The definition of an overlap refers to the 'hull and equipment in normal position",  which presumably includes a spinnaker and bowsprit during a downwind leg. 

However at the critical time when approaching the zone around a mark at the end of a downwind leg, boats are dropping their spinnakers and retracting their bowsprits.   So for the purposes of establishing an overlap...its seems that retracting the bowsprit could in fact break an established overlap just at the wrong moment.   

How does this play out in practice?

Is it valid to delay dropping / retracting to ensure an existing overlap is maintained?




Rule 18.2
(e) If there is reasonable doubt that a boat obtained or broke an overlap in time, it shall be presumed that she did not.

It obviously depends on the speeds you're doing and the length of your spinnaker pole. In planing conditions it would be hard to argue that you broke the overlap with the boat behind because they retracted their pole anywhere between 2-4 boat lengths of the mark. While in lighter stuff there is no reason you can't leave the kite up well inside the 3 length zone. If you're giving mark room to other people at the same time then this all goes out the window. At the 200 nationals you can be dropping your kite 5 lengths from the zone to slow your self down as you let everyone clear ahead round.  

If I was overlapped inside and pulling my pole in would break the overlap I would shout loudly that I'm overlapped and just send it as late as possible into the mark so there is no doubt. If I was unsure if I was overlapped or not I would just tuck in behind. A lot of mark rounding has to do with who you're near as well, picking your battles based on who will be hard but fair and who will just outright not let you past even if it was clear as day you were overlapped is a big part to it too. 




Posted By: jeffers
Date Posted: 25 Jan 21 at 4:55pm
Depends on how late you drop the kite and boat speeds involved really..... I would imagine a well drilled crew would be dropping in the zone at which point it downt matter if the overlap is broken.

-------------
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74



Print Page | Close Window

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y - http://www.webwizforums.com
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz - http://www.webwizguide.com