New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: SI to Switch Off Black Flag Exclusion from restart
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

SI to Switch Off Black Flag Exclusion from restart

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Strangler View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king

Joined: 24 Mar 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 148
Post Options Post Options   Quote Strangler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 11 at 5:32pm
Originally posted by gordon

An attempt might be made to use 64.1(c) to give a ROW boat exoneration from breaking rule 30.3. I'm not sure if it would work... by being in the triangle between ends of line and windward mark before the start ROW boat has broken rule 30.3. She must, if she knows that she has broken the rule, retire, in accordance with the Basic Principle. If she were to apply for exoneration she would have to demonstrate that, having been sailed over the line (and thus, unwillingly, broken the rule) she had sailed back and started correctly. But by doing so she acknowledges that she has broken the rule... Does anyone have a example of a Jury using 64.1c in this way

It was not a black flag start but I was at a championship in 2000 where a P&S incident forced S over the line. He continued and later protested... and won. It affected the top 3 placings but after 8 pints of Guinness your not bitter!
Looking at the rule I see nothing that stops a protest committee from coming too this interpretation.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy