New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Tacking in zone
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Tacking in zone

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>
Author
piglet View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Jan 07
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Post Options Post Options   Quote piglet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Tacking in zone
    Posted: 04 Apr 16 at 6:00am
Club handicap racing, starting from a club line, short starboard fetch to Mark 1 leaving Mark 1 to starboard, then beat to Mark 2.
200 clear ahead of Laser at start, clear ahead at 3 BL to M1 and clear ahead as she passes tight to M1.
200 now tacks onto port at about 1BL after the mark as was her intended course.
Laser makes a better mark exit and has a slightly higher lane and therefore is forced to tack with 200 to avoid a collision.
The discussion after centred on room vs tacking in another boats water.
18.2.c.2 seems to give 200 rights to her proper course as far as head to wind, while 16.1 seems to prohibit 200 from infringing Laser.
Advice much appreciated.

Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 16 at 7:26am
Going through rule 18.

The 200 is entitled to Mark Room as per rule 18.2b as she is clear ahead.

As soon as she passed head to wind her right to Mark Room ceases as per 18.2c plus she was no longer at the Mark (as you stated she was 1BL past the mark). 

Mark room only includes room to tack is the boat is to windward, overlapped and inside at the mark (as per the definition of Mark Room). So she did not have the room to tack as part of the Mark Room obligations.

It would hinge on 3 things for me were I on a PC:

1) What was the separation between the 2 boats

2) Has the 200 completed her tack before the Laser started her mark rounding?

if so:

3) Would the Laser have passed clear astern had she not altered course (i.e. rounded the mark)

My gut feeling is that the boats were close, the 200 slid off wide due to a poor rounding and tacked but the Laser was already sailing higher so the 200 would get pinged.
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1107
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 16 at 7:36am
200 reached the zone clear ahead of L on the same tack.
  1. L is required to keep clear of 200 (rule 12);  and
  2. L is required thereafter to give 200 mark-room (rule 18.2( b )).

As 200 luffs into her tack, L will become overlapped inside, (if she was not already), and then
  1. L continues to be required to keep clear of 200, but now under rule 11;
  2. L continues to be required to give 200 mark-room, (but if 200 has left the mark astern without interference from L, then L has given 200 all the mark-room she needs;
  3. L is required to give 200 room to sail her proper course (rule 18.2( c )(2)), and will continue to be required to give that room while they remain overlapped [and rule 18 continues to apply].

IF 200's proper course is to tack immediately after the mark, then as she luffs up to head to wind, she is sailing within the room to which she is entitled, and shall be exonerated if she breaks rule 16 (but not rule 14) (rule 21).

Once 200 passes head to wind, boats cease to be overlapped, and the proper course for one (L) but not both is to tack, so:
  1. rule 18 ceases to apply, rule 13 (While Tacking) applies, and 200 is required to keep clear of L;
  2. L has acquired right of way because of 200's actions, so is not required by rule 15 to initially give 200 room to keep clear;  BUT
  3. if L changes course after 200 passes head to wind, L is required, by rule 16.1 to give 200 room to keep clear.
If, in a protest hearing, 200 could not satisfy the protest committee that her proper course was to tack where she did, she would not be sailing within the room to which she was entitled, and would not be exonerated if she broke rule 16, and until she reached head to wind she would simply be a leeward (rught of way) boat luffing.

In summary:
  1. 200 is entitled to room to sail her proper course, but that entitlement ceases when she passes head to wind;  and
  2. rule 16.1 does not protect L from a hard luff from 200, but rule 14 might.
I agree with Jeffers that this looks like a poor rounding by 200, followed by dead set tacking into the Laser.  To get off the hook 200 is going to have to prove:
  1. it WAS her proper course to tack at the mark;
  2. L failed to keep clear, or give 200 room to sail her proper course before 200 passed head to wind;
  3. if 200 failed to keep clear of L after she passed head to wind, she was compelled to break the rule by L's prior breach of a rule.
We really need to know: was there contact?  where on the boats and at what attitude?


Edited by Brass - 04 Apr 16 at 7:48am
Back to Top
piglet View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Jan 07
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Post Options Post Options   Quote piglet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 16 at 8:20am
In answer to Jeffers point about separation, opinion may be divided,
But
Let's assume that L was not clear of the mark when 200 started her tack and L was close enough to 200 that an overlap was created as soon as 200 started to luff.
Add to this there was slight tide running against the boats as they headed for M1, and wind was fairly light. This was a compounding factor in 200's decision of when to tack, tacking on the mark would have risked mark contact.
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1107
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 16 at 9:16am
Was there contact?

If so:
  1. did contact occur before or after 200 passed head to wind?
  2. did contact cause damage or injury?
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 16 at 9:36am
As there was conjecture over the separation it will come down to who can convince the PC their version was correct (aka 'lie best' in the protest room as someone put it in a recent rules evening we had).

Unless of course there was a witness.....
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
davidyacht View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 29 Mar 05
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1281
Post Options Post Options   Quote davidyacht Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 16 at 11:27am
Not very smart course setting, starboard hand first mark is probably going to lead to disquiet.

I guess that when I round a mark to starboard from a fetch to a beat with someone close behind I am looking to do a very tidy luff and tack.  My guess is that RS200 was trying to prevent a possible overlap, which prevented a good wide in - tight out rounding (not allowed in a "mark room" situation now I know).  

I shall follow the thread with interest, but I would have thought that if the RS200 misses the opportunity to do a tidy luff and snappy tack in the mark room lane, it will prove best to keep on the same tack whilst looking over his shoulder and postpone tacking until the Laser puts his helm down.  A bit of windward heel and dirty air from the 200 would have encouraged the Laser to either bear off behind or tack ASAP.
Happily living in the past
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6564
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 16 at 11:48am
Originally posted by jeffers

(aka 'lie best' in the protest room as someone put it in a recent rules evening we had).

If the PC finds someone is deliberately lying in a hearing then a further Rule 69 hearing would be appropriate.
Back to Top
jeffers View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 29 Mar 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3048
Post Options Post Options   Quote jeffers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 16 at 12:15pm
Originally posted by JimC

Originally posted by jeffers

(aka 'lie best' in the protest room as someone put it in a recent rules evening we had).

If the PC finds someone is deliberately lying in a hearing then a further Rule 69 hearing would be appropriate.

Is it a lie if they believe it to be true? Good luck proving that and proving any deliberate attempt to deceive....
Paul
----------------------
D-Zero GBR 74
Back to Top
piglet View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 04 Jan 07
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 513
Post Options Post Options   Quote piglet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Apr 16 at 2:34pm
Originally posted by davidyacht

My guess is that RS200 was trying to prevent a possible overlap, which prevented a good wide in - tight out rounding DIV]

Good assessment, there was also a 2nd 200 inches to leeward of the 1st 200 applying pressure and sucking the air out of the rig.

Brass, there was no boat contact.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy