New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: dial down
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

dial down

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1050
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 13 at 1:37pm
Originally posted by yellowwelly

Thanks Gordon and Brass... the other area of application I thought of was in a handicap race, dialling down a boat that is faster on the spreadsheet.
While all the rest of the fleet go thundering past?
 
Engaging just one other boat in a handicap race is very rarely a good idea.
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1050
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 13 at 1:41pm
Originally posted by catmandoo

its not allowed in handicap racing !!!

unless your match racing on handicap  Wink
The rules don't actually forbid the dial-down, and the TR RR Call Gordon cited points out that once boats are beam-reacing towards one another, even rule 16.2 (which is NOT switched off for Team Racing), won't apply.
 
The rules just make boats initiate the dial-down a bit further apart, and in the case of MR damp down how far and how fast the initiating boat can go. 
Back to Top
yellowwelly View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 13
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2003
Post Options Post Options   Quote yellowwelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 13 at 2:11pm
Originally posted by Brass

Originally posted by yellowwelly

Thanks Gordon and Brass... the other area of application I thought of was in a handicap race, dialling down a boat that is faster on the spreadsheet.
While all the rest of the fleet go thundering past?
 
Engaging just one other boat in a handicap race is very rarely a good idea.

I can think of situations where it could be a good idea, especially if you are bringing series points into the equation- forcing your opposition down the pan even further, whilst maintaining your 'good result' on corrected time might be a play worth considering.

But thanks for the clarity- much appreciated.
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6384
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 13 at 2:36pm
Now suppose that Stbd has "dialed down" at some distance, and then ports luffs up so that they are now going to clear starboards bow. I suspect 16.2 comes into play again and there could be circumstances where S ends up having sailed themselves into ducking port...

Originally posted by Timmus

soon there will be little purches on board for solicitors

There's never been any great shortage of amateur lawyers when it comes to RRS...

Edited by JimC - 16 Sep 13 at 2:38pm
Back to Top
yellowwelly View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 13
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 2003
Post Options Post Options   Quote yellowwelly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 13 at 2:38pm
Originally posted by JimC

Now suppose that Stbd has "dialed down" at some distance, and then ports luffs up so that they are now going to clear starboards bow. I suspect 16.2 comes into play again and there could be circumstances where S ends up having sailed themselves into ducking port...

certainly a feasible scenario... especially on a shifty puddle.   Confused  
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1050
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 13 at 3:05pm
Originally posted by yellowwelly

Originally posted by JimC

Now suppose that Stbd has "dialed down" at some distance, and then ports luffs up so that they are now going to clear starboards bow. I suspect 16.2 comes into play again and there could be circumstances where S ends up having sailed themselves into ducking port...
certainly a feasible scenario... especially on a shifty puddle.   Confused  
 
Once P is no longer 'keeping clear by sailing to pass astern of S', 16.2 goes OFF and its pure 16.1
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1050
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 13 at 3:07pm
Originally posted by Timmus

soon there will be little purches on board for solicitors and health and safety execs.

"ready to tack?"
"legal?...Yo!"

Embarrassed
Love it.
 
But remember, rule 16.2 is only really going to apply when S is deliberately hunting down.
 
S is going to know what they are doing.
Back to Top
gordon View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Sep 04
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1037
Post Options Post Options   Quote gordon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 13 at 3:07pm
Jim C - could you explain how port tack luffing to clear starboard's bow could possibly be interpreted as keeping clear by sailing to pass astern! 16.2 cannot apply if port tack boat is crossing a starboard boat's bow.

However in this situation starboard would have to remeber to give port room to keep clear if she (starboard) changes course.

I always suggest that on a two (or more) handed boat that one person should always be saying whether boat is ROW or keep clear...


Gordon
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 6384
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 13 at 3:27pm
Yeah, fair comment, didn't read the rule carefully enough. Just 16.1 applies.
Back to Top
ohFFsake View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 04 Sep 08
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 185
Post Options Post Options   Quote ohFFsake Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 13 at 7:51pm
Picking up the OP's point, I'd say that one situation where a dial down can be hugely beneficial, even when sailing in a fleet, is when P is about level with S and likely to make a lee bow tack stick.

If S bears off a bit whilst still a few boat lengths away she speeds up and forces P to tack sooner than they would otherwise have done. As soon as P commits to the tack S resumes their close hauled course and immediately gets separation as well as gaining speed, so instead of being lee-bowed she will now have every chance of rolling the other boat.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy