Please select your home edition
Marine Resources 2017 728x90

Rolex Sydney Hobart dominated by Reichel/Pugh designed yachts

by Reichel/Pugh Yacht Design on 6 Jan 2013
Robert Oatley’s RP100 Wild Oats XI, New Course Record Holder, Line Honors and Overall Winner ROLEX-Carlo Borlenghi
The 2012 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race was dominated by Reichel/Pugh designed yachts. Congratulations are in order to the owners and crews of the yachts that competed in the event.

Following their sixth Record Line Honors and breaking the course record it has been officially confirmed that Robert Oatley’s Reichel/Pugh designed and McConaghy Boats built 100’ Canting Keel Super Maxi Wild Oats XI has won a historic second Trifecta by taking first place corrected IRC Overall, winning the Tattersall’s Cup along with a first Place win of the IRC 0 Division.

Stephen Ainsworth’s Reichel/Pugh designed/engineered and McConaghy Boats built 63’ Mini Maxi Loki (the 2011 race overall winner) wins first in IRC 1 and second IRC corrected Overall in the entire fleet.

Peter Harburg’s Reichel/Pugh designed and Westerly Marine built 66’ Canting Keel Mini Maxi Blackjack took ORCi Division 1 and ORCi corrected Overall and a second in IRC Division 0 and third in IRC corrected Overall.

Reichel/Pugh designed Maxis have taken first to finish in seven out of eight last editions of the race and currently hold the elapsed time record. Since 1996 Reichel/Pugh Maxis have taken Line Honors nine times including a record four times in a row by 100’ Wild Oats XI in 2008 which has now taken Line Honors a record six times in eight years.

2012- 100’ Wild Oats XI – first to Finish – Bob Oatley (Trifecta Win and Course Record Set: 1 day 18 hours, 23 minutes and 12 seconds)
2010 - 100’ Wild Oats XI – First to Finish – Bob Oatley (Record five times Line Honors)
2009 - 100’ Alfa Romeo – First to Finish – Neville Crichton, second to Finish 100’ Wild Oats XI
2008 - 100’ Wild Oats XI – First to Finish – Bob Oatley (Record four times in a row Line Honors)
2007 - 100’ Wild Oats XI – First to Finish – Bob Oatley
2006- 100’ Wild Oats XI – First to Finish – Bob Oatley
2005 - 100’ Wild Oats XI – First to Finish – Bob Oatley (Trifecta Win and Course Record Set: 1 day, 18 hours, 40 minutes and 10 seconds)
2002 - 90’ Alfa Romeo – First to Finish – Neville Crichton
1996 - 80’ Morning Glory – First to Finish – Hasso Plattner (Course Record Set: 2 days, 14 hours, 7 minutes, 10 seconds)

RP Yachts have won the Rolex Sydney-Hobart Race Overall in the last three editions of the race.

2012 - 100’ Wild Oats XI – First Overall – Bob Oatley (Trifecta Win)
2011 – 63’ Mini/Maxi Loki – First Overall – Stephen Ainsworth
2010 – 51’ Secret Men’s Business 3.5 – First Overall – Geoff Boettcher
McConaghy Boats for McConaghy Boats (builders of Wild Oats XI, Alfa Romeo 90 and 100, Loki and Morning Glory Westerly Marine for Westerly Marine (builders of Hart Marine for Hart Marine (builders of Secret Men’s Business 3.5)

Fever-Tree 660x82Marine Resources BOTTOMNebo 660x82 2