Please select your home edition
Marine Resources 2017 728x90

Splash Worlds, Kiwis 4th in Open, win Womens title

by Sail-World on 30 Jul 2007
Keziah Deverell, took the Womens title at the 2007 Splash Worlds, Split, Croatia

New Zealand’s Scott Fyfe has finished fourth overall in the World Splash Championships in Split Croatia, and was the best performed New Zealander in the Open Fleet. The World title was won by Blair Tuke (NZL) in 2006.

Keziah Deverell won the Women’s World Championship title, she also finished 15th in the open fleet, after finishing second in the final race. Ben Lutze (NZL) won two races in the eight race series, but came undone after a bad end to the regatta, finishing 51st (his discard) and 38th in races 7 and 6 respectively.

Nine New Zealand sailors competed in the event which attracted 118 competitors from seven countries.

The new world champion is Belgium's Willemart Mathieu - achieved through consistent results throughout the sseries.

Aleksander Arian from Poland was second overall with Belgium's Gilles Cleeren in third place.

The New Zealanders had a difficult last day in the light shifty conditions and did well to finish with three sailors in the top ten overall in the Open Championship and winning the Womens title.

NZ National Champion, Scott Fyfe, was the best of the New Zealanders in 4th place, with Kayne Jacobson 7th, and Harrison Reed 8th. Other NZ placings were: Ben Lutz 14th, Keziah Deverell 15th, Joseph Wright 18th, George Lane, 30th, Spencer Loxton 32, Timothy Evans 37th.

Keziah Deverell did very well in the last race to record a 2nd place, which enabled her to claim the woman's title.

More reports can be seen on:

RS Sailing BOTTOMSelden 660x82Zhik 2018 Yacht 728x90 BOTTOM