Please select your home edition
Zhik 2018 Yacht 728x90

Vote 1 for Lion Island

by Christopher Sligar on 31 Aug 2013
Start for Division 1 Lion Island Race 2012 - Lion Island Race Christopher Sligar
Saturday 7 September marks the start of Sydney’s offshore yacht racing season with Sydney Amateur Sailing Club’s Lion Island Race.

With a race start time of 10.00am it’s a matter of voting early and then going sailing. Forget about polls, policy and promises for a few hours while racing up the coast to Lion Island and return. At 35nm it’s typically a mid to late afternoon return, well before polling closes.

As in previous years there will be two divisions and results will be scored under PHS.

Sydney Amateurs' Commodore Liam Timms makes this bold (and fully costed) claim, 'For the first time in fifty years you have a real choice on election day that will deliver immediate results with no broken promises, we welcome all competitors to SASC’s Lion Island yacht race as you leave winter and the terra firma polls behind on the 7th September…'

Notice of Race can be found on SASC web site ( as can on-line entry facility. Line Honours challengers will be racing for the Merrington Trophy, Division 1 competitors for the Anitra V Trophy, and Division 2 for the P. J. Worrall Trophy.

The Lion Island Race continues an Amateurs tradition of a race to Lion Island stretching back to 1961. In over 50 years this will be the first time the race has coincided with a Federal Election.

Dubarry AUS 2017 660x82 4BandG AUS Triton2 FOOTERSouthern Spars - 100