Please select your home edition
North Sails 3Di 60 - 728x90

Top Women’s Match Racing Teams go head to head in Annapolis

by Jake Fish on 11 Sep 2016
2012 U.S. Women's Match Racing Championship Chris Ray
In an exciting celebration of match racing and women’s sailing in general, a collection of the top teams in the country have qualified to race for the Allegra Knapp Mertz Trophy this weekend in Annapolis. Teams will the J/22 class sailboat at the 2016 U.S. Women’s Match Racing Championship, hosted by Annapolis Yacht Club, this Friday through Sunday, September 9-11.

Teams will race over three days near the mouth of the Severn River on Chesapeake Bay. The highest placing eligible skipper will be awarded an invitation to the 2017 Buddy Melges Challenge at Sail Sheboygan in Wisconsin.

Defending champion Nicole Breault (San Francisco, Calif.) has returned to defend the 2015 title. Breault also won the 2015 World Sailing Nations Cup in Russia. Previous winners of the U.S. Women’s Match Racing Championship include an impressive list of the top women’s sailors in recent U.S. history. Cory Sertl, Betsy Alison, Sally Barkow, Anna Tunnicliffe, Stephanie Roble, Genny Tulloch, Liz Baylis, and Debbie Cappozi have all won this US Sailing National Championship.

Racing Format

• Stage 1 – Preliminary round robin racing
• Stage 2 – Quarterfinals
• Stage 3 – Semifinals and Finals
Harken AUS Reflex 660x82Boat Books Australia FOOTERNorth Technology - Southern Spars