Please select your home edition
North Sails 3Di 60 - 728x90

Rolex Sydney Hobart ORCi win to British yachtsman

by Peter Campbell on 1 Jan 2011
Chris Bull and Geoff Boettcher at Constitution Dock - Sydney Hobart Constitution Dock presentation Andrea Francolini Photography
British yachtsman Chris Bull and his Cookson 50 Jazz are the inaugural winners of the historic Charleston Trophy as Overall Winner of new ORCi rating division of the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race.
However, for the second time in a decade he has placed second Overall in IRC, which still remains the major rating division of the race, with the Tattersalls Cup going to Secret Men’s Business.

The Overall Winner under IRC ratings, along with the IRC division winners were announced by the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia at a dockside public ceremony in Hobart today.

Geoff Boettcher was formally handed the Tattersalls Cup and a Rolex watch (for the second time for publicity purposes) while the crew received commemorative medallions.

Bull received his Rolex ‘battle flag’ as winner of IRC Division O, but the ORC overall and division winner will not be officially named until the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Prizegiving at the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania tomorrow morning.

IRC Division winners announced this morning included:

IRC Division 0: Jazz (Chris Bull, UK/Malta)
IRC Division 1: Secret Men’s Business (Geoff Boettcher, SA)’
IRC Division 2: Victoire (Darryl Hodgkinson, NSW)
IRC Division 3: Paca (Phillipe Mengual, NSW)
IRC Division 4: Spirit of Koomooloo (Chris Fairbairn, Qld)
Sydney 38: Eleni (Tony Levett, NSW)

Zhik 2018 Yacht 728x90 BOTTOMSouthern Spars - 100Nebo 660x82 1