MarineBusiness-World.com
 
 
News Home Cruising USA Cruising Int Photo Gallery
Sail-World.com : Book Review: The Voyage of the Cormorant
Book Review: The Voyage of the Cormorant

'The Voyage of the Cormorant - an unexpected tale'    .

'I built Cormorant, my 18-foot open boat, in 22 months – from August 2005 to June 2007 – on weekends and nights in the single-car garage of the studio apartment I rented...I laminated stem and stern pieces; set up molds for the hull on a building frame; cut, bent, and secured planks; and saw a vessel steadily emerge from my efforts.'

Published last month -  .. .  
Christian Beamish, a former editor at The Surfer’s Journal, envisioned a low-tech, self-reliant exploration for surf along the coast of North America, using primarily clothes and instruments available to his ancestors, and the 18-foot boat he built by hand in his garage.


How the vision met reality – and how the two came to shape each other – places Voyage of the Cormorant in the great American tradition of tales of life at sea, and what it has to teach us.

Here's what some of the reviewers wrote:

'Christian Beamish's solo, motorless, and totally impractical journey dazzles. In prose as smooth as morning glass, he reminds us of the value of 'blood memory,' and the wisdom of solitude.' Jamie Brisick

'A remarkable story, that contains much that is so deeply human in terms of our relationship to the natural world and our own inner nature. Beautifully written, not only with refreshing honesty, but also with deep humility in the face of enormous courage and privation, this is truly an inspiring and authentic endeavour.' Wayne Lynch

'Beamish craves high-risk challenges that require no one else. This first book describes his pinnacle experience to date: building/single-handing a shockingly small craft deep into Baja with deftly explained waterman sensibilities, and observations, and coastal natives who can only see his going for fun to their place of life and death, as an anomaly.' Steve Pezman

If you can't find the book at your local marine book store, you can purchase it online by clicking here.


by Sail-World Cruising

  

Click on the FB Like link to post this story to your FB wall

http://www.sail-world.com/index.cfm?nid=102434

9:09 PM Fri 28 Sep 2012GMT


Click here for printer friendly version
Click here to send us feedback or comments about this story.


Related News Stories:

15 Sep 2012  Classic Asymmetric Sail Mistakes - And How to Avoid Them
09 Sep 2012  Book Review: 'Outfitting the Offshore Cruising Sailboat'
09 Sep 2012  Book Review: 'Outfitting the Offshore Cruising Sailboat'
12 Aug 2012  Book of the Week: 'Rescue in the Pacific' by Tony Farrington
07 Aug 2012  Book Review: Sailing: Catching the Drift of Why we Sail
18 Jul 2012  Rob's Passage Planner for the Australian east coast - a little beauty
29 Jun 2012  Book of the Week: 'Expert Sailing Skills'
01 Jun 2012  Book of the Week: Doina Cornell's 'Child of the Sea'
01 Jun 2012  Book of the Week: Doina Cornell's 'Child of the Sea'
10 Apr 2012  Book Review: Knox-Johnston on Sailing
MORE STORIES ...






Cruising Canada









Springtime Greening: Boaters Tips for Earth Day by BoatUS Foundation/Sail-World Cruising,








How sailors really do have a voice in the future of our oceans by Sandra Whitehouse, Sailors for the Sea,


Message-in-a-bottle record - 102 years by AFP/Sail-World Cruising,










Canadian solo sailor rescued north of Auckland by Sail-World Cruising round-up,


















Free online fuel spill course - how much do you know? by BoatUS Foundation/Sail-World Cruising,












Life-shattering event sends 'rookie' couple sailing the world by Asia News Network/Sail-World Cruising,








3,200-year-old boat found in Croatian waters
Product of the Week: the LineGrabber
Mediterranean Mooring - How to moor stern-to to a dock or quay
Canadian storm bomb threat - sailors advised: get off the water!
Carbon monoxide poisoning - is it possible on YOUR boat?
Sailing family condemmed for taking 3-year-old on circumnavigation
New contract-free plan for satellite communicator on your smart phone
Yacht of the Week: The Dashew creation: no sails, but eco-friendly
No laughing! Sailing mistakes I don't want to make
Destination: From Moscow Sea to the White Sea
Land sailors of India on adventure across the Rann
A Paint App to (almost) replace your marine store assistant
Air warms but water slower - be careful, sailors, of hypothermia
Volunteer Canadian rescue team homeless - any offers?
Hilary Lister and Nashwa Al Kindi set a new trans-ocean record
How to anchor and 'never utter a word'
Non-pyrotechnic flares for my boat - Can I or can't I?
Health benefits of sailing
Cruising in the Maldives - some nuts and bolts
ISAF Guide to Offshore Personal Safety for Racing and Cruising
Halyard Tension - a video   
Winchrite - for lazy days or extra muscle-power   
Researcher examines 'current leaks' that may change the way you sail   
Paris off to attempt to circumnavigate the world again   
Need a tow from that helicopter? - watch the video and don't laugh   
Certain oil spill products shown to be ineffective and toxic + Video   
The Constrictor: a powerful 'Queen' of sailing knots!   
Boat painting - simple but best tips   
'It's never just one thing' - Swedish sailors rescued   
Book of the Week: From the Galley of...   
Two brave women to sail India to Oman across Arabian Sea   
Rhode Island's Classic Yacht Symposium - Registration opens   
Another rescue for second-time unlucky solo sailor   
New York to San Fran record attempt - Maserati reaches the Horn   
Finally the book:HMS Bounty, Disaster and Survival in Superstorm Sandy   
Yachts impounded in Mexico - the agony goes on...   
Students achieve robot boat Atlantic Crossing - but not as planned   
Solar vessel nominated for Engineers Prize   
Endurance Award for cruising sailors, new worldwide award for 2014   
It's coming. Dodgers/biminis to be solar power producers   


For this week's complete news stories select    Last 7 Days
   Search All News
For last month's complete news stories select    Last 30 Days
   Archive News







Sail-World.com  



















 
Our Advertisers are committed to our sport, please support them!
This site and its contents are © Copyright TetraMedia Pty. Ltd and/or the original author, photographer etc. All Rights Reserved.

Photographs are copyright by law. If you wish to use or buy a photograph you must contact the photographer directly (there is a hyperlink in most cases to their website, or do a Google search.) with your request.

Please do not contact Sail-World.com as we cannot give permission for use of other photographer’s images.

Only if the photographer named on the image is Sail-world.com, Powerboat-world.com, Marinebusiness-world.com or NZBoating-World.com.
Contact us .
Ph: +61 2 8006 1873 or complete our feedback form    Contact us .
   View our Privacy Policy.    [Go Home]     [  Banner Advertising Specification]    [Bot Archive ]

Customised news feeds -Marine Industry companies, Clubs and Associations have their own customised version of our news feed on their website.
Look_here_to_see_examples

X6XL NEW Cru CA