Victorian raid on NSW Tasar titles

NSW Tasar Championships 2011
Phil Thompson
Victorian sailors took out the top four positions in the NSW Tasar Championship held in perfect sailing conditions on Lake Illawarra over the Easter weekend.

Sailing in a fleet of 42 boats world champions Paul and Bronwyn Ridgway narrowly beat Heather Macfarlane and Chris Payne.

Coming in third were Alistair Murray and Darren Eger and fourth were Pete Ellis and Charlotte Birbeck. All four boats were from Sandringham Yacht Club.

It was the first time that the event has been taken out by Grand Masters sailors. To top off the raid on trophies, Victorian, Daniel Elmslie, sailing with father David, won the Junior helm trophy. Derek and Gwen Warne won the Super Grand Masters and Heather Macfarlane won the Lady Skippers prize.

The Masters trophy, won by fifth place getters Nic and Rob Douglass, was the only major award that was won by someone from the home state.

NSW is now considering moving their titles much further north next year!