sail-world.com
 
 
News Home Cruising Photo Gallery Video Gallery
Sail-World.com : World Match Racing Tour - Match Race Germany preview
World Match Racing Tour - Match Race Germany preview

'Nine Tour Card Holders from across the globe will compete for the 2012 ISAF Match Racing World Championship'    WMRT ©    Click Here to view large photo

The much anticipated 2012 Alpari World Match Racing Tour will get underway at Match Race Germany where all of the pre-season verbal jousting will give way to the world’s greatest match racing action. While it’s a chance to assess several of the teams’ early season form, a number of new interesting subplots will begin to play out.

While much of the pre-season focus has been on Williams’ bid to equal Gilmour’s record four titles, a national rivalry story has added extra spice to this year’s Championship race with Sweden, New Zealand and Australia each represented this year by two Tour Card Holders. Swedish sailing legend Magnus Holmberg recently raised this subplot after favouring Johnie Berntsson over Bjorn Hansen as his pick for the series.

Responding to Holmberg’s belief that Berntsson is a stronger bet to win the 2012 Tour, Hansen said: 'We want to be on the podium this year and we want to be the best Swedish match racing team. Are we good enough to beat Johnie [Berntsson]? Definitely.'

Hansen admits his team feels they 'have unfinished business' to tend to. Although victorious at the Korea Match Cup and a runner-up at Stena Match Cup Sweden, his Mekonomen Sailing Team’s 2011 season was marred by inconsistent form, something Hansen is intent on putting right in 2012: 'We need to raise our ‘lower level’. When we weren’t on top form, we were losing too many matches. You need to also win ugly to become the Champion of this series.'

Phil Robertson is another Tour Card Holder who may well be feeling he has a point to prove after a tough opening season in 2011 and, with fellow Kiwi Laurie Jury now also holding a card, Robertson will also have to fight for the bragging rights back in New Zealand.

Another key subplot focuses on the challenge that awaits the crop of young sailors who have earned Tour Cards this season. Few would expect teams to compete at the top end of the leader board in their first season, but in Pierre-Antoine Morvan and Simone Ferrarese, Tour fans have been given an indication these two could be challenging the podium sooner rather than later.

Simone Ferrarese, the youngest Tour Card Holder, recently received a ringing endorsement from current Champion Ian Williams, who fully expects him to 'Make an impression on the Tour this year' following a semi-final appearance at the Congressional Cup in California. Ferrarese downplays this expectation but knows he can’t stay under the radar for long:
'There is no expectation for us this year and I think that might work in our favour. We’re a young team and hopefully we can use our position as underdogs to take a few people by surprise.

'Once we’ve proved we can be consistently competitive at each event this season, we know that people will expect us to step up and that’s fine. I think we can challenge for a Championship title in the next few years.'

Pierre-Antoine Morvan is more bullish about his chances in his first season and as current No. 3 in the ISAF Match Racing World Rankings and finalist at last season’s St. Moritz Match Race, he feels he needs a podium finish in his first season to really underline his pedigree: 'The Alpari World Match Racing Tour is match racing at the top level. It’s a big step up for us but we have the ability to get up to speed quickly and secure a podium in our first season. We have to be aiming for that to really make an impression and we’ll call on our good friends Mathieu [Richard] and Damien [Iehl] and our coach Bertrand [Pace] to try and achieve it.'

Sailing fans will not have long to wait to see who seizes the early advantage. The first two chapters of the season will already be concluded in the next fortnight with Match Race Germany falling back-to-back with the Korea Match Cup, which starts on 29 May.

World Match Racing Tour website
Match Race Germany website


by Leigh Ireland

  

Click on the FB Like link to post this story to your FB wall

http://www.sail-world.com/index.cfm?nid=97560

9:38 PM Tue 22 May 2012GMT


Click here for printer friendly version
Click here to send us feedback or comments about this story.


Related News Stories:

17 May 2012  Grand Slam Match Racing Series expands internationally
14 May 2012  World Match Racing Tour – Racing rules amended
12 May 2012  Malaysian Match Racing Circuit Stage 1 - Down to the wire
09 May 2012  Malaysian Match Racing Circuit - Seven skippers confirm entry
09 May 2012  World Match Racing Tour legend believes Berntsson can take title
04 May 2012  Argo Group Gold Cup - Johnie Berntsson to compete
27 Apr 2012  Open De Espana - Strong start for Black Swan Racing
26 Apr 2012  Argo Group Gold Cup - Invitations issued by Royal Bermuda YC
17 Apr 2012  World Match Racing Tour – Williams to begin bid for fourth victory
02 Apr 2012  Alpari World Match Racing Tour preview
MORE STORIES ...






News - USA and the World









Volvo Ocean Race 2014-15 CEO Knut Frostad talks (Part III) *Feature by Rob Kothe and the Sail-World team,


Audi Melges 20 World Championship - ‘Samba Pa Ti’ crowned champion by International Audi Melges 20 Class Association,










Audi Melges 20 World Championship - Final race to decide champion by International Audi Melges 20 Class Association,










Fort Lauderdale International Boat Show - 13 things to See and do by Fort Lauderdale International Boat Show,




Volvo Ocean Race: Update from Team Vestas Wind in images by Richard Gladwell/Sail-World.com/nz,








Audi Melges 20 World Championship - Classic Garda conditions on day 2 by International Audi Melges 20 Class Association,
























Audi Melges 20 World Championship - Alessandro Rombelli's 'STIG' leads
Volvo Ocean Race: Call of Duty comes first for Team Alvimedica
Audi Melges 20 World Championship - Day 1 images by Stefano Gattini
Helping boaters understand weather basics
PWA Alacati World Cup - Exciting finish on day 2
Match 40s find the surface again + Video
Audi Melges 20 World Championship - Day 1 images by Max Ranchi
Clagett Regatta names first Executive Director
Transatlantic Race - Fleet expanded for 2015 edition
IFDS World Championship overall
Anna Tunnicliffe: Alinghi finishes second - Extreme Sailing Series
2014 18' Skiff International Regatta - Day 2
2014 Audi Melges 20 World Championship - It's go time in Garda
2nd Annual Keith Dinsmoor Regatta September 13-14
Aldo Alessio Regatta - Three days of tight racing
PWA Alacati World Cup - First blood to Van Der Steen and Offringa
Oakcliff Sailing hosts the Nacra 17, 49er and 49erFX Nationals + Video
International 18ft Skiff Regatta underway on San Francisco Bay
Maxi Yacht Rolex Cup 2014 - Quality fleet for Maxi Classic
Sailing Champions League - which is Europe's best sailing club?
Weta fun at the Wine & Roses Regatta   
Extreme Sailing Series: The Wave, Muscat claims victory on Cardiff Bay   
International 14 World Championships 2015: Not just for boys   
Rio de Janeiro achieves 50% treatment of sewage outflow *Feature   
2014 AWT Quatro Desert Showdown - Event memorable videos   
2014 18' Skiff Int Regatta: Day 1 at San Francisco - Reversal on beach   
Emirates Team NZ: Last race boost cannot save team from table bottom   
PWA Alacati World Cup - Furious slalom is upon us   
J/111 World Championships - The Winner is Shmokin Joe!   
J/24 US National Championship - Victory for Will Welles’ Cougar   
Extreme Sailing Series: View the Final Day's action - Replay   
NYYC Grandmasters Team Race - Reign continues for Noroton Yacht Club   
WSSR announces new World Record Around Britain and Ireland   
IFDS Worlds 2014 - Final day photos by Tim Wilkes   
2014 Detroit Cup - Morvan wins   
Newport Bucket Regatta 2014 -Images by George Bekris   
IFDS Worlds 2014 - Final report: USA qualifies for Rio 2016   
Extreme Sailing Series: Absent With-Out Leave – Ben Ainslie Racing   
2014 IFDS World Championship - New champions claim medals   
2014 IFDS World Championships - Sunday’s race images by Tim Wilkes   


For this week's complete news stories select    Last 7 Days
   Search All News
For last month's complete news stories select    Last 30 Days
   Archive News







Sail-World.com  


















Switch Default Region to:

Social Media

Asia

Australia

Canada

Europe

New Zealand

United Kingdom


http://www.sail-world.com/event_images/image/Twitter_logo_small.png http://www.sail-world.com/event_images/image/FaceBook-icon.png  http://www.sail-world.com/event_images/image/RSS-Icon.png

United States

Cruising Northern

Cruising Southern

MarineBusiness World

PowerBoat World

FishingBoating World

 

Contact

Commercial

News

Search

Contact Us

Advertisers Information

Submit news/events

Search Stories/Text

Feedback

Advertisers Directory

Newsletter Archive

Photo Gallery

 

Banner Advertising Details

Newsletter Subscribe

Video Gallery

Policies

 

 

 

Privacy Policy

 

 


Cookie Policy

 

 



This site and its contents are © Copyright TetraMedia and/or the original author, photographer etc. All Rights Reserved.  Photographs are copyright by law.  If you wish to use or buy a photograph contact the photographer directly.
XLXL VIR US
LocalAds   DE  ES  FR  IT