Please select your home edition
Edition
Southern Spars

Volvo Gill Optimist National and Open Championship 2011 preview

by Gail Willows on 16 Jul 2011
Volvo Gill Optimist Championship 2010 © Paul Wyeth / pwpictures.com http://www.pwpictures.com
Volvo Gill Optimist National and Open Championship 2011 is being hosted by Pwllheli Sailing Club, North Wales from 29th July until 5th August. 450 young Optimist sailors will be attending the event.

This year the annual sailing event is celebrating its 50th anniversary and racing is expected to be as fierce as ever for the young sailors. Since the first Optimist National Championships in 1961 the class has become the largest youth class in the UK and impressively has over 150,000 young sailors competing across the globe. British sailing greats, including triple Olympic gold medallist Ben Ainslie and London 2012 hopeful Hannah Mills, are among the previous winners, proving the value of this event in giving young people the skills to move into a career in sailing and become our next generation of Olympic stars.

'The Optimist National Championships was the first major event I ever won and it really was a stepping stone for me. It is amazing that after winning the Optimist event 9 years ago I am now getting ready to compete at the Pre-Olympic Test Event. The National Championships are a fantastic event for young sailors to compete in and it is such an achievement for the class to celebrate its 50th anniversary. It is a great that year on year the class is growing in popularity and size' said Hannah Mills who was the first female to ever win the Nationals, and currently sails a 470 with Saskia Clark.

This year the event will welcome competitors from 15 nations including, France, Germany, Holland, Spain, Portugal, Finland, USA, UAE, Russia, New Zealand, Australia, South Africa, Kenya, Bermuda - a mouth watering prospect for some great racing during the week.

It is the eleventh year that Volvo Car UK has sponsored the Optimist Sailing class in the UK and they are excited to be working with new joint title sponsor and sailing clothing specialist, Gill.

'We are looking forward to being involved in our first Volvo Gill Optimist National Championships. A fleet of 450 young sailors together on the water will be a remarkable sight and the 50th anniversary is wonderful achievement for the class. The Gill design and development team will be there on Wednesday 3rd August to answer questions from the competitors and research what today's Optimist sailors are looking for to improve their comfort and competitiveness on the water.' commented Nick Gill, founder and Chairman of Gill.

The Optimist class is a crucial part of Volvo’s and Gill’s commitment to supporting British sailing from the grass roots to the pinnacle of the sport.

'Once again we have received a fantastic amount of entries for the Volvo Gill Optimist National Championships. We are all looking forward to heading to Pwllheli and expecting some exiting racing. The great thing about the event is many of the sailors competing will be attending as much for fun and a family holiday as for the racing. In addition to the sailing, we have lots of activities for competitors and parents during the week including beach games, parties and evening films. We hope everyone can really enjoy the week.' commented Marshal King, International Optimist Class Association, UK Volvo Sailing website
Naiad/Oracle SupplierNewport Boat Show 2016 660x82Wildwind 2016 660x82

Related Articles

AWT - PWA Severne Starboard Aloha Classic 2014 - Post Classic clean up
Aloha Classic 2014 - Organised by +H20, beach clean up will take part at Ho'okipa Beach Park from 9am tomorrow morning. AWT - PWA Severne Starboard Aloha Classic 2014 - Organised by +H20, the beach clean up will take part at Ho'okipa Beach Park from 9am tomorrow morning. Come and join locals, competitors and more as we make sure Ho'okipa is ready for more and more people to enjoy it.
Posted on 12 Nov 2014
Severne Starboard Aloha Classic 2014 - Closing the Classic in style
Aloha Classic closing: Night started early for a few of the Tour ladies, who decided to make the most of the occasion. AWT-PWA Severne Starboard Aloha Classic 2014 closing - The night started early for a few of the Tour ladies, who decided to make the most of the occasion...The evening was filled with glamour as the top AWT and PWA riders from this event and the 2014 Tour were crowned. Cheers echoed through the grand venue as champion after champion took to the podium.
Posted on 11 Nov 2014
2014 American Windsurfing Tour - Crowning the champions
We prepare to crown the AWT and PWA champions tonight at the closing ceremony at the King Kamehameha Golf Club 2014 American Windsurfing Tour - As we prepare to crown the AWT and PWA champions tonight at the closing ceremony at the King Kamehameha Golf Club we catch up with some of our Champions and more riders.
Posted on 10 Nov 2014
Severne Starboard 2014 Aloha Classic closing ceremony - Get ready...
From 7pm onwards AWT and PWA riders will be joined by many more for official closing ceremony of 2014 Aloha Classic. From 7pm onwards the AWT and PWA riders will be joined by many more for the official closing ceremony of the Severne Starboard 2014 Aloha Classic. Held at the spectacular King Kamehameha Golf Club and with appetizers, cash bar, music, prizes, trophies, a raffle, plus the premier of the Red Bull Storm Chase movie this promises to one of the best closing ceremonies in a long time!
Posted on 9 Nov 2014
AWT Severne Starboard Aloha Classic - Loffreda becomes champion
Loffreda's fourth place here in Maui, along with consistently high results throughout the tour has given him the title AWT Severne Starboard Aloha Classic - Loffreda's fourth place here in Maui, along with consistently high results throughout the tour has given him the title ahead of the 2014 Amateur title winner Dan Thomson! Congratulations Ferdinando!
Posted on 8 Nov 2014
AWT Severne Starboard Aloha Classic – Unstoppable Nagoshi and Aiken
AWT Aloha Classic kicked off this morning; 17 incredible women took on big swell and offshore winds of Ho’okipa. AWT Severne Starboard Aloha Classic kicked off this morning with the Women’s fleet; 17 incredible women took on the big swell and offshore winds of Ho’okipa. The fleet contained AWT and world champions, but it was some of the familiar local faces that made it into the final. Junko Nagoshi had won the Aloha Classic title three times before and she wasn’t likely to let this one slip away.
Posted on 7 Nov 2014
PWA Severne Starboard Aloha Classic 2014 - Noireax is king of Ho'okipa
PWA Aloha Classic - It was straight into final stages of PWA double elimination in fluctuating winds and tricky swell. Morgan Noireaux won the PWA Severne Starboard Aloha Classic, as did Iballa Moreno in the women’s fleet, and Tom Garcia in the Grand Masters. Plus, Thomas Traversa was crowned PWA World Champion! It was straight into the final stages of the PWA double elimination in the fluctuating winds and tricky westerly swell.
Posted on 6 Nov 2014
AWT Severne Starboard Aloha Classic - Thomson takes AWT Amateur Title
AWT Amateur Aloha Classic - An incredible 63 Amateur riders were greeted with lightish winds, but over head high swell. AWT Amateur Severne Starboard Aloha Classic 2014 - An incredible 63 Amateur riders were greeted with lightish winds, but over head high swell, which meant it was straight into competition as soon as the wind picked up a little more and the surfers left the water. With this amount of competitors we knew the action would kick straight into action, and we weren't wrong!
Posted on 5 Nov 2014
AWT Severne Starboard Aloha Classic - Race is on for Amateur Title...
After days of watching action it was finally time for Amateurs to take to water and do battle for Aloha Classic title. After days of watching the action it was finally time for the 63 Amateurs to take to the water and do battle for the coveted Aloha Classic title. And, as this is the last event of the season, we also have riders including Ruben Lemmens and Dan Thomson going for glory and the AWT 2014 title!
Posted on 4 Nov 2014
Aloha Classic - Iballa Moreno crowned PWA World Champion
Another incredible day at Ho’okipa brings us even closer to crowning the men's PWA Champions for the Aloha Classic. nother incredible day at Ho’okipa brings us even closer to crowning the men's PWA Champions for the Severne Starboard Aloha Classic and the PWA 2014 tour. The call was made early to cancel AWT competition for the day and continue with the PWA. It was double elimination time, which meant a second chance for all the riders that missed out on advancing in the single elimination.
Posted on 4 Nov 2014