Please select your home edition
Edition
Zhik Dinghy Wetsuits

London Olympics- Preview of day 2 for Team GBR

by RYA on 30 Jul 2012
Ben Ainslie Robert Deaves/Finn Class http://www.finnclass.org
At the 2012 London Olympic Games, Ben Ainslie (Finn), the Star boys, Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson and the Match Race trio of Lucy Macgregor, Annie Lush and Kate Macgregor all got their 2012 campaigns underway on day one of the regatta, but what is in store for them on day two?

*all times below are scheduled start times

With all eyes on whether Ben Ainslie can become the most successful sailing Olympian of all time at this Games it seems fitting that the Finn class gets proceedings underway at 12pm on the Nothe course.

Normally the target time for a Finn race is one hour, but for all classes the target time has been lowered slightly on the Nothe course – which is the spectator course – so Ben’s race one has a target time of 45 – 60 minutes.

For his second race of the day Ben switches to the Weymouth Bay West course, with that race scheduled to get underway at 1.40pm.

By his own admission, Ben’s opening days haven’t always gone entirely to plan, something he will be looking to try to avoid this time around.

The memories of Star (two-man keelboat) pair of Iain Percy and Andrew Simpson winning their emotional gold together in Beijing will live long in the memory but the lifelong best mates are keen to try to replicate those images on home waters this time around.

Both of the two scheduled Star races today are set to take place on the Weymouth Bay West course, starting at 1.30pm and 2.50pm. The target time for each race is 60-75 minutes.

The Brits get the Women’s Match Racing competition – the longest event of the whole Olympic Regatta – underway on the Nothe course at 1.30pm.

In race one, they will be going head-to-head against the Denmark trio of Lotte Pedersen, Susanne Boidin and Tina Gramkov.

Race two is scheduled to get away at 3.30pm on the same course, against the Spanish team of Tamara Echegoyen Dominguez, Sofia Toro Prieto Puga and Angela Pumariega Menendez.

After a week of next to no breeze in Weymouth, the wind is expected to get up for racing today.

From an anticipated 10-12 knots at the start of racing the breeze is expected to build to 16-18 knots this afternoon, with some strong gusts and shifty conditions across Weymouth Bay. The wind is expected to come from a West / South-Westerly direction, with broken sunshine and a few showers British Sailing Team website
Zhik ZKG 660x82Barz Optics - Melanin LensesNaiad

Related Articles

Tom Slingsby and Nathan Outteridge - the retrospective -Part III
In Part III, the Question and Answer session, we will discover why Nathan’s nick name is George and why Tom is so fast Interview with Nathan Outteridge and Tom Slingsby. In Part III, the Question and Answer session, we will discover why Nathan’s nick name is George and why Tom is so fast at post capsize recovery.
Posted on 9 Nov 2015
Blast from the past, do you remember this? Great Video!!
One particular race in the 2012 London Olympic Laser Radial regatta in Weymouth was one of most watched sailing events One particular race in the 2012 London Olympic Laser Radial regatta in Weymouth was one of the most watched sailing events of 2012. Watch it again to remember exactly why.
Posted on 8 Nov 2015
Lijia Xu ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2012 - THAT Speech
Lijia Xu (CHN) was crowned ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2012 at an awards night in Dublin, Ireland: Lijia Xu (CHN) was crowned ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2012 at an awards night in Dublin, Ireland. The acceptance speech from the China sailor was one of the most eloquent ever heard. The acceptance speech from the China sailor was one of the most eloquent ever heard. If you have not heard it, you can catch it now.
Posted on 3 Nov 2013
Mat Belcher – 17 in a row - 'The harder I work, the luckier I get'
The harder I work the luckier I get, is a quotation attributed variously to Thomas Jefferson and Mark Twain The harder I work the luckier I get, is a quotation attributed variously to Thomas Jefferson and Mark Twain but perhaps of Amish origin, but regardless the sentiment is well understood. And it’s something that one of Australia´s most successful Olympic class regatta sailors and his coach understands very well.
Posted on 20 Aug 2013
Ainslie- Close to quitting sailing after Andrew 'Bart' Simpson's death
I came close to quitting sailing after Andrew 'Bart' Simpson's death, says Sir Ben Ainslie. British sailing great, Sir Ben Ainslie writes in The Daily Telegraph on after the funeral service for his close friend, Andrew Simpson, killed in San Francisco as a result of an AC72 break up, during a training session.
Posted on 3 Jun 2013
A Tribute to Bart
This video pays tribute to Andrew Simpson's many sailing achievements, His Service is to held on May 31, in England Andrew 'Bart' Simpson died in the capsize of the Artemis Racing AC72 on May 9, 2013. His service will be held on Friday May 31 in Sherborne Abbey, UK, followed by a celebration of his life at Sherborne Castle. This video pays tribute to Bart's many sailing achievements
Posted on 31 May 2013
Ainslie knighted in New Year Honours, five others recognised
Four-time Olympic gold medalist Ben Ainslie has been Knighted in the New Year Honours list. British sailor and four-time Olympic gold medalist Ben Ainslie has capped a triumphant year of sailing with a Knighthood in the New Year Honours list. British Sailing has more cause for celebration, with honours also going to Paralympic gold medallist Helena Lucas, and to Ainslie’s coach David Howlett, who were both named as Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE).
Posted on 29 Dec 2012
2012 Paralympic Games a winner in global TV ratings
The London 2012 Paralympic Games were a TV ratings winner with pictures shown in more countries than ever before. The London 2012 Paralympic Games were a TV ratings winner with pictures shown in more countries than ever before and attracted their biggest ever international audience according to new figures published by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC).
Posted on 28 Nov 2012
London Paralympic Games debrief to start in Rio
Paralympic Games committee will share their knowledge and experiences of London 2012 with future organising committees. The organising committee of what International Paralympic Committee (IPC) President Sir Philip Craven defined as the best ever Paralympic Games, will share their knowledge and experiences of London 2012 with future organising committees and the 2020 candidate cities this week in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Posted on 21 Nov 2012
2012 Olympics- The Medalists thoughts on Kites and Windsurfers
The new Olympic Medalists were asked their thoughts on the decision to change the event from Windsurfing to Kiteboarding At the Medal Winners Media Conference held after the Medal Ceremony for the Mens and Womens Windsurfing Event at the 2012 Olympics, the new Olympic Medalists were asked their thoughts on the decision to change the event from Windsurfing to Kiteboarding the 2016 Olympics.
Posted on 2 Nov 2012