sail-world.com
 
 
News Home Cruising Photo Gallery Video Gallery
Sail-World.com : America's Cup: Luna Rossa's Max Sirena reviews their time in Auckland
America's Cup: Luna Rossa's Max Sirena reviews their time in Auckland


'Max Sirena - Luna Rossa'    Luna Rossa / Carlo Borlenghi

Pierre Orphanidis of leading European sailing website vsail.info spoke with Luna Rossa skipper, Max Sirena, with the Italian team's AC72 yacht scheduled to arrive in San Francisco in a week and the sailing team preparing in Naples for the final America's Cup World Series event, Max Sirena gave us an update on the latest developments at the Italian America's Cup Challenger - Luna Rossa:

VSail.info: You must be happy to be back racing in Italy with Luna Rossa?

Max Sirena: I'm always happy to be back here, especially after last year's incredible event. I had never, ever, seen so many people watching a sailing competition.

VSail.info: Let's talk about the period Luna Rossa spent in Auckland. Do you think you have reached the goals you had set?

Max Sirena: I'm convinced the period we spent in Auckland has been very positive and in fact we might we have done and achieved a lot more than what we thought would be possible. You should keep in mind we started more than a year later than the other teams and, given the complexity of the AC72's, we feared we wouldn't be able to achieve what we wanted. On the contrary, the team worked very well and this allowed us to advance greatly both on and off the water. We were able to do much more than what we had initially scheduled even if, on purpose, we decided to keep a very low-profile communication. We decided not to issue press releases every day, the way the other teams are doing.

VSail.info: Why didn't you want to communicate? After all, if you achieve more than you plan, it is a positive message.

Max Sirena: It was my own, personal request. I wanted the team to work relaxed, without too many media distractions. It's my personal philosophy, I'd rather have the media talk about us when we win our races. I don't want to communicate drivel every day, the way our friends are doing.

VSail.info: Isn't that 'drivel', as you call it, also part of marketing? You have the luxury of having Patrizio Bertelli funding the team so you probably don't feel any marketing pressure.

Max Sirena: That's true, that's a major advantage we have compared to the other teams. The fact our main sponsor is also the owner of the team allows us the liberty to adopt such a low-profile communications policy. However, and this is my own personal opinion, people aren't interested in reading every day on Facebook whether you played frisbee or whether you bought a nice truck. This is a bit pitiful. On the other hand, obviously, we can't put on the internet the videos of what we have been doing and testing on the boat every day. This is why we decided at the end of our period in Auckland to publish the video of our last day of sailing, to show that we are here and we are working hard.



VSail.info: What is your program now? From what I see on the America's Cup noticeboard you sailed your AC72 for the last time on March 15th. What have you done since then?

Max Sirena: That's correct, we last sailed on March 15th. We obviously took the opportunity and carried a general debrief of everything we did in Auckland. This pause also allowed us to pick up and transfer our base to San Francisco as well as carry out some modifications on our boat.

VSail.info: What are those modifications?

Max Sirena: There will be an upgrade from an aerodynamic point of view and without any doubt she will be a different boat from what you saw in her last sailing days in Auckland. There is also an ongoing development program that will see the arrival of our new appendages in early June. We will start sailing in San Francisco between May 8th and 10th and steadily all the new upgrades will be arriving, from early May to mid June.

For the rest of this interview click here


by vsail.info

  

Click on the FB Like link to post this story to your FB wall

http://www.sail-world.com/index.cfm?nid=108283

7:33 PM Tue 9 Apr 2013GMT


Click here for printer friendly version
Click here to send us feedback or comments about this story.

Click for further information on
2013 America's Cup

Related News Stories:

09 Apr 2013  America's Cup: Emirates Team NZ starts packing for San Francisco
09 Apr 2013  America's Cup: Australia II replay of 30th win anniversary special
09 Apr 2013  America's Cup: Image gallery - Oracle Team USA training in San Fran
07 Apr 2013  America's Cup: Hall of Famer dies in San Diego at 95
05 Apr 2013  America's Cup: 'We will keep learning, even in the Match' - Simmer
04 Apr 2013  AC World Series Naples - Energy Teams aims for victory
04 Apr 2013  America's Cup: More images from the Hauraki Gulf as NZL5 departs
04 Apr 2013  America's Cup: Images from the Hauraki Gulf as Emirates Team NZ ends
04 Apr 2013  America's Cup: Oracle boss says Kiwis favourites - for the moment
04 Apr 2013  America's Cup: Emirates Team NZ apparently concludes its NZ build up
MORE STORIES ...






News - USA and the World

































Starboard Hatteras Wave Jam day 5 by American Windsurfing Tour,


















470 Men and Women Worlds - Champions decided in Santander by International 470 Class Association,
















ISAF Sailing Worlds, Santander: 470 awards images by Sail-World.com
ISAF Sailing Worlds, Santander - 470 medal race images by Jesus Renedo
Annapolis-to-Newport Race - 'What to Expect' Seminar to take place
Royal Cup Marina Ibiza - No racing on penultimate day
Belcher takes record fifth 470 World Championship
ISAF Sailing World Championships - Santander - Day 8 video highlights
2014 Great Lakes Team Racing Championship about to set off
2014 Etchells North American Championship - Day 1
2014 U.S. Multihull Championship - Day 1
2014 Chicago Match Cup - Repechage top four determined in final flight
J/24 World Championship - 35th anniversary preview
470 Men and Women Worlds - Santander medal race line-up confirmed
ISAF Sailing Worlds, Santander - Day 8 images by Sail-World.com
Royal Cup Marina Ibiza - Quantum Racing stumbles in coastal race
ISAF Sailing Worlds, Santander - Americans ready for 470 medal races
ISAF Sailing Worlds, Santander: Action ramps up with end zone in sight
Big Boat Series - It's not the size, it's the length
ISAF Sailing World Championships Santander - Double French RS:X gold
ISAF Sailing Worlds, Santander - Day 8 images by Sailing Energy
ISAF Sailing Worlds - Finn leaders emerge from shifty Santander breeze
ISAF Sailing Worlds, Santander - RS:X winner images by Barbara Sanchez   
ISAF Sailing Worlds, Santander - Rio 2016 470 spots awarded   
52 Super Series 2015 - Outlook looks hot for the 52 Super Series   
Starboard Hatteras Wave Jam - Another early start on day 4   
ISAF Sailing World - First entry leaves sailor's reputation in tatters   
2014 Chicago Match Cup - Four go through to quarter finals   
470 Men and Women Worlds - Champs take over leaderboard   
ISAF Sailing World Champ - Buckingham finishes with career-best result   
America's Cup: Oracle's Larry Ellison to step down as CEO   
Classic Yacht Regatta - Sonny takes top classic prize   
ISAF Sailing Worlds, Santander - Buckingham finishes with career best   
ISAF Sailing Worlds, Santander - Rio 2016 RS:X spots claimed   
ISAF Sailing Worlds - Leaderboards shaping up in Santander + Video   
ISAF Sailing Worlds, Santander - Giles Scott continues to extend lead   
ISAF Sailing Worlds, Santander - Day 7 images by Sailing Energy   
ISAF Sailing Worlds - Laser and Radial winner images by Jesus Renedo   
ISAF Sailing Worlds, Santander - Medal Race images by Sail-World.com   
ISAF Sailing Worlds - Dutch dominate Laser and Radial in Santander   
Royal Cup Marina Ibiza - Quantum Racing more than doubles overall lead   
J/24 World Championship - Excitement builds for Newport racing   


For this week's complete news stories select    Last 7 Days
   Search All News
For last month's complete news stories select    Last 30 Days
   Archive News







Sail-World.com  


















Switch Default Region to:

Social Media

Asia

Australia

Canada

Europe

New Zealand

United Kingdom


http://www.sail-world.com/event_images/image/Twitter_logo_small.png http://www.sail-world.com/event_images/image/FaceBook-icon.png  http://www.sail-world.com/event_images/image/RSS-Icon.png

United States

Cruising Northern

Cruising Southern

MarineBusiness World

PowerBoat World

FishingBoating World

 

Contact

Commercial

News

Search

Contact Us

Advertisers Information

Submit news/events

Search Stories/Text

Feedback

Advertisers Directory

Newsletter Archive

Photo Gallery

 

Banner Advertising Details

Newsletter Subscribe

Video Gallery

Policies

 

 

 

Privacy Policy

 

 


Cookie Policy

 

 



This site and its contents are © Copyright TetraMedia and/or the original author, photographer etc. All Rights Reserved.  Photographs are copyright by law.  If you wish to use or buy a photograph contact the photographer directly.
XLXL NEW US
LocalAds   DE  ES  FR  IT