Please select your home edition
Edition
Southern Spars - North Technology

London Olympics 2012 - Day 2 preview

by David Schmidt, Sail-World USA Editor on 30 Jul 2012
London 2012 - Olympic Games London 2012 - Olympic Games Carlo Borlenghi/FIV - copyright
The Olympic sailing schedule and the weather gods conspired together to deliver a magnificent set of conditions for the second day of racing of this Olympiad. Six classes are racing today—Finns (their second day of sailing), 49ers (their first day of sailing), Lasers (also their first day of racing), Laser Radials (again, their first day), the Women’s Match Racing (WMR) event (their second day of sailing) and the Stars (Day Two for them as well)—ratcheting up the level of excitement in the sailing village and things interesting all around. Also, the RS:X (both the Men’s and Women’s classes) are enjoying their first day of practice racing today, before things turn more serious later this week.


Conditions started off a touch lighter than yesterday, but saw the breeze build to roughly 12 knots by noon, with a stronger breeze (15-20 knots) blowing over the course later this afternoon. According to this morning’s press briefing, the WMR event will sail three or four flights, plus a redress race; the 49ers, the Finns, the Stars, the Lasers and the Radials, plus the RS:Xers, are all expected to rifle off two races.


Some classes are sailing Windward-Leewards (some with offset marks to the finishing line), while the other sailors are being challenged with trapezoid-shaped courses that are contained within the circumference of the racing area.

Also, it was announced this morning that American Anna Tunnicliffe and her WMR team have filed for redress after tangling their foils on a race mark that was incorrectly positioned on the course yesterday. More, as it becomes known.

Please stay tuned for more updates as the afternoon’s racing progresses, and for wrap-up results, once the scorecards are populated.

Barz Optics - FloatersNorth Technology - Southern SparsT Clewring One Design

Related Articles

Tom Slingsby and Nathan Outteridge - the retrospective -Part III
In Part III, the Question and Answer session, we will discover why Nathan’s nick name is George and why Tom is so fast Interview with Nathan Outteridge and Tom Slingsby. In Part III, the Question and Answer session, we will discover why Nathan’s nick name is George and why Tom is so fast at post capsize recovery.
Posted on 9 Nov 2015
Blast from the past, do you remember this? Great Video!!
One particular race in the 2012 London Olympic Laser Radial regatta in Weymouth was one of most watched sailing events One particular race in the 2012 London Olympic Laser Radial regatta in Weymouth was one of the most watched sailing events of 2012. Watch it again to remember exactly why.
Posted on 8 Nov 2015
Lijia Xu ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2012 - THAT Speech
Lijia Xu (CHN) was crowned ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2012 at an awards night in Dublin, Ireland: Lijia Xu (CHN) was crowned ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2012 at an awards night in Dublin, Ireland. The acceptance speech from the China sailor was one of the most eloquent ever heard. The acceptance speech from the China sailor was one of the most eloquent ever heard. If you have not heard it, you can catch it now.
Posted on 3 Nov 2013
Mat Belcher – 17 in a row - 'The harder I work, the luckier I get'
The harder I work the luckier I get, is a quotation attributed variously to Thomas Jefferson and Mark Twain The harder I work the luckier I get, is a quotation attributed variously to Thomas Jefferson and Mark Twain but perhaps of Amish origin, but regardless the sentiment is well understood. And it’s something that one of Australia´s most successful Olympic class regatta sailors and his coach understands very well.
Posted on 20 Aug 2013
2012 Olympic Games - Stevie Morrison one year on
This week, as we approach the anniversary of the 2012 Olympic Games we’ll hear from members of the British Sailing Team This week, as we approach the anniversary of the 2012 Olympic Games on 27 July, we’ll hear from members of the 2012 British Sailing Team who reflect on their own Games experiences
Posted on 22 Jul 2013
2012 Olympic Games - Lucy Macgregor one year on
Lucy Macgregor one year on from the 2012 Olympic Games All this week, as we approach the anniversary of the 2012 Olympic Games on 27 July, we’ll hear from members of the 2012 British Sailing Team who reflect on their own Games experiences
Posted on 22 Jul 2013
Ainslie- Close to quitting sailing after Andrew 'Bart' Simpson's death
I came close to quitting sailing after Andrew 'Bart' Simpson's death, says Sir Ben Ainslie. British sailing great, Sir Ben Ainslie writes in The Daily Telegraph on after the funeral service for his close friend, Andrew Simpson, killed in San Francisco as a result of an AC72 break up, during a training session.
Posted on 3 Jun 2013
A Tribute to Bart
This video pays tribute to Andrew Simpson's many sailing achievements, His Service is to held on May 31, in England Andrew 'Bart' Simpson died in the capsize of the Artemis Racing AC72 on May 9, 2013. His service will be held on Friday May 31 in Sherborne Abbey, UK, followed by a celebration of his life at Sherborne Castle. This video pays tribute to Bart's many sailing achievements
Posted on 31 May 2013
Ainslie knighted in New Year Honours, five others recognised
Four-time Olympic gold medalist Ben Ainslie has been Knighted in the New Year Honours list. British sailor and four-time Olympic gold medalist Ben Ainslie has capped a triumphant year of sailing with a Knighthood in the New Year Honours list. British Sailing has more cause for celebration, with honours also going to Paralympic gold medallist Helena Lucas, and to Ainslie’s coach David Howlett, who were both named as Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE).
Posted on 29 Dec 2012
2012 Paralympic Games a winner in global TV ratings
The London 2012 Paralympic Games were a TV ratings winner with pictures shown in more countries than ever before. The London 2012 Paralympic Games were a TV ratings winner with pictures shown in more countries than ever before and attracted their biggest ever international audience according to new figures published by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC).
Posted on 28 Nov 2012