Terry McLaughlin named Rolex Sailor of the Year 2013

2013 Rolex Sailor of the Year ~ Terry McLaughlin & RCYC ~ NYYC Invitational Team
Sail Canada would like to congratulate Terry McLaughlin on claiming the most prestigious award in Canadian sailing, the Rolex Sailor of the Year for 2013. It was a night of celebration for Terry and friends as he celebrates the 30-year anniversary of his Olympic silver medal with Flying Dutchman crew Evert Bastet. Evert was thrilled to be in attendance saying, 'Terry is always proud to fly the Canadian flag and sail for Canada.'

McLaughlin - 'It was a great honor to be nominated with such fine Canadian Sailors. Congratulations to John, Jackie and Al, your achievements over the last year were fantastic, and we all deserved to be here.'

Executive Director of Sail Canada, Paddy Boyd - 'The Sail Canada 2013 Sailor of the Year event is a tribute to extraordinary endeavour by Canadians involved in sailing activity. It is important to recall the great contributions to Canadian sailing, whether through the individual brilliance of Al Clarke, Laser Masters World Champion or the team contributions represented by Sailor of the Year Terry McLaughlin, skipper of the successful RCYC Team at the New York Invitational, Volunteer of the Year Evert Bastet as leader of the group who ran the Canada Games regatta, and Skipper's Plan Team of the Year, John McRoberts and Jackie Gay, bronze medallist at the IFDS Worlds.

Congratulations to all of the finalists and award winners this past year! We look forward to celebrating new achievements in 2014!

Rolex Finalists were Al Clark, and Team John McRoberts and Jackie Gay.

Skippers' Plan Female Athlete of the Year:
Isabella Bertold
Skippers' Plan Team of the Year: John McRoberts and Jackie Gay
Volunteer of the Year: Evert Bastet
Coach of the Year: 
Rob Frost
City of Kingston Regatta of the Year: Canadian Optimist Dinghy Championships, Royal St. Lawrence Yacht Club
Bill Burk Youth Elite Memorial: Male - Sandy Beatty; Female - Corinne Peters
Gerry Roufs Trophy: Eric Holden
Instructor of the Year: Jenn Grierson
Marvin McDill Memorial Award: Jacob Chaplin Saunders and Graeme Chaplin Saunders
Nathan Cowan Memorial Award:
Sam Gustin and Ian Woodbury

William Abbott Sr. Trophy; 
Sail Training Program of the Year: Nepean Sailing Club
Recreation Event of the Year: 
Sail All - Lunenburg Yacht Club

Please contact sailcanada@sailing.ca for more information.

Sail Canada