Swan European Regatta - Bronenosec and Samantaga victorious

Bronenosec, Gazprom Swan 60 World Champions celebrate dockside with prosecco
Kurt Arrigo/ Nautor's Swan
In the Swan European Regatta, winning with a race to spare, Vladimir Liubomirov helming his Swan 60 Bronenosec (RUS) took the inaugural title of Gazprom Swan 60 World Champion with six solid firsts across 12 races.

Valery Golubev, Deputy Chairman of the Gazprom Management Committee, dockside today on the final day of racing said, 'We are proud to have been part of the foundation of the Gazprom Swan 60 Class and the inaugural Gazprom Swan 60 World Championship. It has been a pleasure to watch the Swans racing this week and enjoy the atmosphere that the owners and crew create. Personally, I was delighted for Vladimir Liubomirov and his team onboard Bronenosec, the 2013 Gazprom Swan 60 World Champions won with style and professionalism, two attributes we share closely with the team and with Nautor’s Swan.'

In a change to today’s overall results the Swan 45 World Champion title goes to Philippe Mortgat and Patrick Van Heurck’s entry Samantaga (BEL), this team’s positions have remained in the top three spots for the majority of the week. No Limits (NED) led this competitive fleet all week but was disqualified due to a protest today. Double Swan owner Edward Leask GBR has retained his European title from 2011, being crowned the Gazprom Swan European Regatta Champion for Class A racing his Club Swan 42 Magical Mystery Tour. Class B racing was too close to predict the winner going into the final two races today, Ray Mitchell’s Swan 411 Accomplice (GBR) put in serious effort today to pull through into first. Leader of Class C home to some of the most traditional Swans has the most consistent set of results across all the fleets, British owner Chris Frost racing with his daughter on their Swan 36 Finola has much to celebrate as new European Champions with a record win in all races.

The light wind legends created a stir at the ClubSwan Regatta Village, celebrating stylishly with prosecco in the sunshine. Enrico Chieffi, Managing Director, Oy Nautor Ab, remarked on a successful edition, 'It has been an amazing week here in Cowes, not only do we have two new World Champions and an European Champion, the event has brought ClubSwan members closer together enjoying their Swans with friends and family. The weather has been outstanding for us all and the Royal Yacht Squadron Race Committee has ensured quality racing throughout the week. The buzz at the ClubSwan Regatta Village has spread throughout the classes with fun social events appealing to all. I am very much looking forward to the next edition of the Gazprom Swan European Regatta in 2015.'

Gazprom Swan European Regatta Fleet colour the Solent on final start
Kurt Arrigo/ Nautor's Swan

The World Champions will be presented with Asprey crafted trophies at the ClubSwan prize giving held at the Royal Yacht Squadron.

15.00 Provisional Overall Results: Gazprom Swan 60 World Championship 1 – Bronenosec (RUS)                           Vladimir Liubomirov 2 – Knights of Crevichon (GBR)             Sir Peter Ogden 3 – Tsaar Peter (BVI)                              Igor Frolov   Swan 45 World Championship 1 – Samantaga (BEL)                            Philippe Mortgat / Patrick Van Heurck 2 – VanUden (NED)                               VanUden Group 3 – WISC (GBR)                                    Glynn Williams   Gazprom Swan European Regatta   Class A: 1 – Magical Mystery Tour (GBR)             Edward Leask 2 – Brevity (GBR)                                    Mark Devereux 3 – Yellow Drama IV (GBR)                    Stephen Matthews / Roger Barber   Class B: 1 – Accomplice (GBR)                           Ray Mitchell 2 – Elan (GER)                                      Harald Baum 3 – Best Buddies (GER)                         Kay-Johannes Wrede   Class C: 1 – Finola (GBR)                                    Chris Frost 2 – Moustique (GBR)                             Alan Major 3 – Cisne (NED)                                    David Collins / Tony Thorpe Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin-top:0in; mso-para-margin-right:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt; mso-para-margin-left:0in; line-height:115%; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin; mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri; mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}