Star European Championship day 2 - Italians lead

Star European Championships 2011 day 1
After gales delayed the start of the Star European Championship (2nd-10th September) at Dun Laoghaire (Co. Dublin, Ireland) on Sunday, a lull allowed two races to be sailed today (Monday 5th September) that saw Italians Diego Negri and Enrico Voltolini deliver two consistent results of a race win and a second place in the 27-boat fleet from 17 nations.

The Italians leaders were the 2006 European champions and overcame challenging post-frontal weather conditions that delivered 20-degree wind-shifts at times on an otherwise smooth race course off Seapoint on the south shore of Dublin Bay.

France’s Guillaume Florent and Pascal Rambeau also had a consistent day with a second and third while the home fleet delivered a strong showing as Olympic veterans and contenders for London 2012 Peter O’Leary and David Burrows placed third and sixth to lie third overall on countback, ahead of France’s Xavier Rohart Pierre and Alexis Ponsot at this early stage in the regatta.

A return to stormy conditions is expected for Tuesday with 40 knots forecast for the morning.

International Star Class European Championship 2011 Overall Sailed: 2, Discards: 0, To count: 2, Entries: 27, Scoring system: Appendix A
RankNatSail NoBow NumberSkipperCrewR1R2R3R4R5R6R7R8TotalNettHonour Award
1stITA826612Diego NegriEnrico Voltolini1.02.0      3.03.03 gold chevons
2ndFRA82705Guillaume FlorentPascal Rambeau2.03.0      5.05.0 
3rdIRL841810Peter O'LearyDavid Burrows3.06.0      9.09.0Silver Star
4thFRA82376Xavier RohartPierre Alexis Ponsot4.05.0      9.09.0Gold Star
5thCAN83611Richard ClarkeTyler Bjorn9.01.0      10.010.0Silver Star
6thPOR830915Afonso DomingosFrederico Melo6.04.0      10.010.0 
7thPOL841714Mateusz KusznierewiczDominik Zycki5.08.0      13.013.0Gold Star
8thGBR837127Iain PercyAndrew Simpson8.07.0      15.015.0Gold Medal
9thESP820919Fernando EchavarriFernando Rodriguez Rivero7.014.0      21.021.0Silver Star
10thPOR827616Gustavo Roxo LimaRubrio Basilio16.09.0      25.025.0 
11thUSA843430George SzaboMark Strube10.015.0      25.025.0Gold Star
12thIRL838511Maxwell TreacyAnthony Shanks15.011.0      26.026.0 
13thUKR824023Arthur AnosovVitalii Kushnir18.010.0      28.028.0 
14thNOR831713Eivind MellebyPetter Morland Pedersen13.017.0      30.030.0 
15thUSA842331Andrew CampbellIan Coleman14.016.0      30.030.0 
16thGBR833329John GimsonStephen Milne11.020.0      31.031.0 
17thGER84148Johannes PolgarMarkus Koy19.012.0      31.031.0Silver Star
18thCRO72872Mate ArapovAnte Sitic20.013.0      33.033.0 
19thGER84267Alexander SchlonskiMatthias Bohn17.019.0      36.036.0 
20thUKR824726Vasyl GureyevVolodymyr Korotkov12.028.0 DNC      40.040.02 Silver Chevrons
21stUKR820524Denis KhashinaDmitriy Mechetin24.018.0      42.042.0 
22ndGBR839628Ante RazmilovicBrian Hammersley22.021.0      43.043.0 
23rdSUI782922Michel NiklausVincent Hagin21.022.0      43.043.0 
24thRUS835917Andrey BerezhnoySergey Masalov23.023.0      46.046.0 
25thSUI725221Jean-Pascal ChatagnyPatrick Ducommun25.024.0      49.049.0 
26thHUN83869Tibor TenkeMiklos Bezereti26.028.0 DNF      54.054.02 Silver Chevrons
27thSWE835120Tom LoefstedtHakan Lundgren28.0 DNC28.0 DNC      56.056.0