RS200 Winter Championships season start at Northampton SC

RS200 Winter Championships
RS200 Winter Championships season kicked off with the first Gul Grand Prix event at Northampton Sailing Club. The small quality fleet assembled on February 26th and 27th featured some highly variable wind. The fleet contained several new faces and a fair few 470 Olympic hopefuls.

Saturday started very wet, muddy and with most of the fleet looking at a calm Pitsford thinking windguru’s forecast of 12 knots gusting 25-30 knots was well wide of the mark. Race one of course saw the first general recall of the season in 10-12 knots but once the race got underway it soon became clear it was not a day to lead downwind as the wind was becoming erratic with very local areas of real extra pressure.

Pete Vincent/Suzie Proctor, James/Will Rusden and Ben Ainsworth/Rach Williamson all had turns in the lead before Richard and Paru Edwards looked like they were going to make a winning return to 200’s. James and Eluned Stewart though found a gust from heaven on the final run to sail round the outside and win from the Edwards and the Rusden’s.

Then the fun really started, whilst the mean wind stayed around 14-16 knots there were real long pulses of proper main flogging wind up the beats and some great downwind action with some very lively leeward marks. Stu Bithell/Kate MacGregor had disappeared into a huge lead in race two but had a very wet leeward mark. Their lead had been so good they righted boat just before James Peters/Alan Roberts passed them only for their main halyard to break on the next beat leaving Peters/Roberts to win from the Rusden’s and Wayne/Debs Fletcher. The wind got even more feisty for race three but the same two boats were 1.2 again this time with Ally Catt/Chris Martin third.

ms11 RS200 Winters-94 - Gul RS200 Winter Championships

Then it was ashore in time for a hot shower, watch England stuff the French and eat the excellent value meal laid on by Northampton SC – yes it was a good day particularly if you were called James.

Sunday and the weather really was being a little mean as the beautiful early morning lulled many to leave layers ashore. Race four in a much more steady ten knots was led from mark one to the finish by Wayne and Debbie Fletcher from Peters/Roberts and Johnny McGovern/Sarah Williams. Race five in lighter breeze with cold drizzle now setting in was perhaps the closest of the championship with all the leading boats closely packed at the front. The Rusden’s just won from Peters/Roberts and the Stewarts.

This left things very finely balanced going into the final race but the black flag removed Peters and the Stewarts at the first mark. Nick Charles/Roz Allen and David Giles/Fiona Clark had a close tussle before they finished in that order but overall victory hinged on where the Rusden’s were going to finish and their fifth place gave them overall victory by a point.

Juliet Charles and Alice Kingsnorth won the silver division with an excellent fifteenth overall with Sarah Tuppen and James Williams of Royal Harwich won the bronze division.

The next Gul Grand Prix event is at Bristol CYC on April 9th and 10th.

RS 200 Winters - Saturday Feburary 26th and Sunday February 27th 2011 Northampton Sailing Club Results as of 9:41 on February 28, 2011 Overall Sailed: 6, Discards: 1, To count: 5, Entries: 40, Scoring system: RS 2011 (N.B. Series tie will need to be broken by hand)
1st171393James RusdenWill RusdenHighcliffe3.02.02.0(11.0) 
2nd311424James PetersAlan PetersHayling Island SC8. OCS)55.014.0 
3rd351411Luke PatienceChristian BirellHollingworth Lake SC6.04.0(20.0) 
4th21203James StewartEluned StewartWeston1. OCS)64.023.0 
5th11231David GilesFiona ClarkWeir Wood SC5. 
6th34658Jonny McGovernSarah WilliamsPort Dinorwic(41.0 DNF) 
7th231015Wayne FletcherDeb FletcherScaling Dam12. 
8th27584Nick CharlesRoz AllenNetley SC11.0(15.0) 
9th181031Chris CattAlly MartinBurghfield14. 
10th13617Ian SharpsEllie MartinBurghfield10. 
11th10640Dave SteedKatharine LoveringBurghfield SC4.0(20.0) 
12th151421Frances PetersTom PartingtonHayling Island SC15.09.0(16.0) 
13th41258Stu BithellKate MacGregorPoole YC17.05.0(41.0 DNF) 
14th191301Pete VincentSuzie ProcterBCYC9. 
15th33953Juliet CharlesAlice KingsnorthRYA23. 
16th381452Arthur HendersonRob HendersonSalcombe YC(25.0) 
17th121029Christian HumphreySam ChildsDatchet(30.0) 
18th141164Emma JohnsonJustin DealBurghfield13. 
19th21831Thomas WrightCaroline Sutton-ReidHollingworth Lake SC16.019.018.0(26.0)22.015.0116.090.0 
20th31230Richard EdwardsPaul EdwardsParkstone YC2.010.0(41.0 DNF) DNC135.094.0 
21st391170Ben AinsworthRach WilliamsonParkway Pirates7.0(41.0 DNF)41.0 DNF27.08.011.0135.094.0 
22nd241161Jane OliveDarren McNamaraBCYC22.0(28.0) 
23rd5792Maia WalshPeter BentleyCardiff YC24.0(27.0) 
24th11760Neil BarrettSophie JonesYorkshire Dales SC19.017.019.0(23.0)21.021.0120.097.0 
25th201256Louise McKeandCathy PartingtonLeigh & Lowton18.0(33.0) 
26th71010Steve RestallJudy RestallDowns SC20.025.0(41.0 DNF) 
27th401146Matt GreenfieldDavid RolfeLittleton SC21.022.0(41.0 DNF) 
28th16770Luke PepperKatie GoodchildHykeham SC28.024.017.0(33.0)30.024.0156.0123.0 
29th61154Sarah TuppenJames WilliamsRoyal Harwich YC26.031.031.0(41.0 DNS)18.029.0176.0135.0 
30th37964Anthony YorkGlenn RogersNorthampton SC(34.0) 
31st32975Harry TurnerPete NelsonNorthampton SC(35.0) 
32nd221263Julian BradleyRenata SapazinskaiteWembley SC29.023.028.0(41.0 DNS)34.031.0186.0145.0 
33rd281317Jack HoldenOllie MillerArun YC27.0(41.0 DNF) DNC187.0146.0 
34th25794Nicholas SmithBrian SmithBowmoor SC31. 
35th29786Joe HuntSteve ClaytonRUYC32.030.024.0(41.0 DNS)27.041.0 DNC195.0154.0 
36th9685Gary LivingstoneHannah LivingstoneNorthampton SC33. 
37th26829Adam ChubbockHenry DurmanArun YC38.035.0(41.0 DNF) 
38th36252Nicola HoldenEmma YorkNorthampton SC36.0(41.0 DNF)41.0 DNC34.037.032.0221.0180.0 
39th30682Josh BennettJoel WakefieldRotherham SC37.0(41.0 DNF)41.0 DNC37.039.041.0 DNC236.0195.0 
40th81079James RussellLauren RussellAlton Water(41.0 DNF)41.0 DNC41.0 DNC36.041.0 DNC41.0 DNC241.0200.0

RS Association website!new