NZL's Phil Robertson maintains lead at Day 2 of the Knickerbocker Cup

Knickerbocker Cup
.. .
Phil Robertson, Waka Racing (NZL) has maintained his lead through day 2 at the Knickerbocker Cup, winning a tie breaker with Eugeniy Neugodnikov, Synergy (RUS), 9-2.

Bill Hardesty, (USA) is a close third, followed by Anna Tunnicliffe, Gus (USA). By the end of the Full Round Robin, 8 teams advanced to the quarter finals, in a first to win three knock out.

In addition to Robertson, Neugodinkov, Hardesty and Tunnicliffe, the teams advancing to the quarter-finals are: Dave Perry, Team Perry (USA), Sally Barkow, Team 7 Racing (USA), Taylor Canfield, Team ISV (ISV) and William Tiller, Full Metal Jacket Racing (NZL). Late afternoon in the quarter-finals found Robertson over Perry 2-0, and the Negodnikov vs. Barkow and Canfield vs. Hardesty tied, each winning one match.

Racing will continue early Saturday morning, with very light wind conditions predicted.

Lots of protests, lead changes and a few photo finishes highlighted the day. The young Tiller team came on strong today, winning matches against Robertson, Perry and Corbett. All three matches found Tiller behind on the first leg, only to catch up and overcome them by the finish. Hardesty pushed Canfield over early in his one match in the quarter finals and went on to win.

Lots more racing before one can predict who will triumph in the 2010 Knickerbocker Cup. Of the six teams vying for the East Coast Trifecta, only Canfield, Hardesty and Tiller remain.

Thomson Reuters is a major sponsor of the 2010 Knickerbocker Cup. The world’s leading source of intelligent information for businesses and professionals, Thomson Reuters combines industry expertise with innovative technology to deliver critical information to leading decision makers in the financial, legal, tax and accounting, scientific, healthcare and media markets.

The Colgate 26 is the official boat of the 2010 Knickerbocker Cup.

For more information: and

Results after the Full Round Robin:
Phil Robertson (NZL) 9-2
Eugeniy Neugodnikov RUS 9-2
Bill Hardesty (USA) 8-3
Anna Tunnicliffe (USA) 7-4
William Tiller (NZL) 7-4
Taylor Canfield (ISV) 6-5
Sally Barkow (USA) 5-6
Dave Perry (USA) 4-7
Reuben Corbett (NZL) 3-8
Henrique Haddad (BRA) 3-8
Sergey Musikhin (RUS) 3-8
Nicolai Sehested (DEN) 2-9