Laser Standard Junior (Under 21) Worlds - Day 1 and 2

Laser Standard Junior Worlds - Under 21
The MacLaren Laser Standard Junior (Under 21) World Championship is underway in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Two races were sailed on day 1.

29 sailors from 19 different countries are competing for the Laser Standard Junior title: Argentina, Austria, Australia, Canada, Curaçao, Chile, Croatia, Denmark, Spain, Italy, Japan, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Slovene, Ukraine, Uruguay and United States.

Racing kicked off at 13:00 local time and they sailed two races with wind of eight knots from the east southeast.

The winner of the first race was Ignasi Lopez Carcare, from Spain. He was ahead the entire course and crossed the line followed by Agustín Vidal (ARG) and Stig Steinfurth (DEN).

The second race was won by an Argentine sailor, Juan Ignacio Biava, who reached the front in the first downwind leg and stayed there until the end. Giovanni Coccoluto (ITA) was second and Filip Kobielski (POL) third.

After these two races Ignasi Lopez Carcare (ESP) holds the lead. Racing continues until Sunday.

Day 2 of races for Laser Standard under 21 fleet.

Wiind was very light and at 1 pm, the programmed time for the first race, there were only 3.5 knots.

The Race Committee decided to raise the AP flag and keep the fleet in land while waiting for the wind to increase. Around 2 pm the AP flag was lowered and the boats started sailing to the race area.

Laser Standard Junior Worlds - Under 21

1ESP 195551Lopez Carcare Ignasi, 1992, U21817
2ARG 192111Biava Juan Ignacio, 1994, U21981
3POL 192638Kobielski Filip, 1992, U21963
4DEN 201408Steinfurth Stig, 1993, U21936
5ARG 197335Vidal Agustin, 1992, U211129
6ITA 202398Coccoluto Giovanni, 1993, U2115132
7ARG 195321Cosacow Cesar, 1993, U2117512
8ARG 171386Falasca Santiago, 1995, U1818144
9UKR 202435Paches Georgii, 1995, U1818108
10SLO 195998Zelko Zan Luka, 1994, U2120911
11POL 188824Arian Aleksander, 1992, U2121417
12AUT 194469Schmidinger Fabian, 1992, U21251213
13POR 197170Mourao Antonio, 1992, U2127225
14AHO 199343Van Otterdijk Kevin, 1995, U18291910
15USA 200514Rizika Jake, 1995, U18311615
16ARG 168643Dalibalta Rachid, 1994, U21331518
17JPN 196466Nanri Kenji, 1992, U21341123
18NOR 201735Begby Henrik Andreas, 1994, U21341816
19ESP 190992Flores Martin Guillermo, 1992, U21377ocs
20CRO 192596de Micheli Vitturi Marko, 1992, U21382414
21SLO 181971Krasevac Uros, 1992, U21381721
22PER 167223de Trazegnies Jean Paul, 1993, U21392019
23ITA 201673Traversa Marco, 1995, U18452322
24AUS 191645Howe Nicholas, 1992, U21472720
25AUT 197013Hollwerth Lukas, 1993, U215121ocs
26ARG 202580Juarez Dover Maximiliano, 1992, U21512625
27CAN 196134Wood Bryant, 1992, U21532924
28CHI 201945Kitzing Sebastian, 1995, U18542826
29URU 187262Blanco Juan Manuel, 1992, U215525ocs

Laser Standard Junior Worlds - Under 21

Laser Standard Junior Worlds - Under 21

Laser Standard Junior (Under 21) World Championship website