ISAF Sailing World Cup Qingdao - The fascinating finale + Video

by ISAF 
Lucas Calabrese and Juan de la Fuente in action
The ISAF Sailing World Cup Qingdao offered a captivating finale as the inaugural event in China and the first World Cup regatta of the 2013-14 series concluded.

Lucas Calabrese and Juan de la Fuente (ARG) held their overnight lead to claim gold ahead of Sime Fantela and Igor Marenic (CRO). Paul Snow Hansen and Dan Willcox (NZL) took bronze.

Jo Aleh and Olivia Powrie's (NZL) strong week ended up with gold in the Women's 470. China's Hui Feng and Lizhu Huang came through in second with Qian Fu and Liyun Liu (CHN) in third.

Dongshuang Zhang (CHN) forced Tatiana Drozdovskaya (BLR) to the back of the fleet in the Laser Radial Medal Race as she claimed gold on her home waters ensuring the Belarusian stayed in silver. France's Mathilde de Kerangat rounded off the podium.

Tonci Stipanovic (CRO) had gold wrapped up ahead of the Medal Race. Pavlos Kontides (CYP) kept second whilst Kacper Zieminski (POL) won bronze.

A strong week from Shahar Zubari (ISR) saw him take gold in the Men's RS:X. Ricardo Santos (BRA) sealed silver whilst Hong Kong's Michael Cheng picked up his first ISAF Sailing World Cup podium finish.

Home favourite Peina Chen (CHN) kept strong in the Women's RS:X Medal Race to win gold. Making it a Chinese 1-2 was Jiahui Wu as she relegated Maayan Davidovich (ISR) to second on the final day.

ISAF Sailing World Cup Melbourne will welcome sailors for the second regatta of the 2013-14 series from 1-8 December 2013. For full results for the ISAF Sailing World Cup Qingdao, click here.