Historic Milson Memorial Cup key for CYCA and RSYS yachts

Brannew (Chris Bran) started the season well by winning the RSYS’s Gascoigne Cup. - Milson Memorial Cup. Photo:
Saturday’s running of the historic Milson Memorial Cup will have a significant bearing on overall season results for yachts representing the host club, the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron, and the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia.

The Milson Cup, a short ocean race, is race eight in the CYCA’s 12 race Grant Thornton Short Ocean Pointscore. As the third of three short ocean races conducted each summer by the RSYS, this is the final race for the Perseverance Trophy.

A fleet of more than 40 boats from the RSYS and the CYCA has entered the Milson Memorial Cup, which commemorates one of the founding families of the Squadron back in 1862.

Going into Saturday’s race only one point separates the top three yachts in the Perseverance Trophy, contested by yachts entered through the RSYS in the Gascoigne Cup, the Morna Cup and the Milson Memorial Cup. The winner is decided on a total of PHS results in each race.

Rod Pearse’ Dehler 41 Ultreya is currently on four points while equal on five points are Peter Williams’ Oceanis 50 Ceilidh and Phil Bennett’s King 38, King Billy.

Ultreya has had two second placings under Perseverance Trophy scoring, while King Billy and Ceilidh each have had a first place and a fourth.

With keen racing for top honours in the Grant Thornton Short Ocean Pointscore, the impressive fleet includes several Rolex Sydney Hobart Race competitors, including Tony Kirby’s Patrice, Paul Clitheroe’s Balance, the Ed Psaltis-skippered Midnight Rambler and Chris Bran’s Branew, along with Bob Steel’s Quest and David Forbes’ Merlin.

Imagination (Robin Hawthown) is leading IRC division 1 of the CYCA's Grant Thornton SHort Ocean Pointscore. Photo Brett Hemmings. - Milson Memorial Cup

The Milson Memorial Cup is decided on PHS scoring with Adrian Van Bellen’s Jackpot holding a four point lead in the Grant Thornton Short Ocean Pointscore under this handicap system. Jackpot is currently on a net 15 points, with Imagination (Robin Hawthorn) on 19 points and Justadash (Philip Dash) on 20 points.

Imagination, a Beneteau First 47.7, heads the principal IRC scoring of the Short Ocean Pointscore, her four wins in seven races so far giving her a net five points, well clear of Justadash (Philip Dash) on 12 points and Nine Dragons (Bob Cox) on 16 points.

RSYS entry King Billy, Philip Bennett’s King 38 heads the CYCA PHS Division two pointscore by just one point from Limelight (Alan Husband) and Crosshaven (Justin Pelly and Sean Rahilly).

Under IRC scoring, Crosshaven leads Division two of the Grant Thornton Short Ocean Pointscore from Saltshaker (Peter Franki) and King Billy.

Also among the Milson Memorial Cup fleet are several of the Squadron Division one harbour racing fleet, including Ultreya (Rod Pearse), Willyama (Richard Barron), Huntress (Philip Grove), Wine-dark-sea (Peter Lowndes), and Hell Razor (Ian MacDiarmid).