Harken Young 88 Nationals- Team NZ crews back to regain title

Young 88 - 2014 Jack Tar Regatta, Day 1
The Young 88’s reputation for hard but fair and fun racing has brought America's Cup sailor Jeremy Lomas back to one hull this weekend. He is skipper of Flash Gordon with some well know teammates including Dean Barker and James Dagg as crew.

Mike Sanderson, Flash Gordon's part owner, usual skipper and 2013 national champ is trading his place for some prior mini maxi commitments and disappointed to be missing out on this marquee event.

Lomas won the event in 2010 and this year will be up against Chris Steele and the gun RNZYS Youth Training Programme crew on Abracadabra. The top ‘owner drivers’ Lincoln Fraser on Dangerzone, Zane Gifford on Raging Hormones and Nathan Williams on Slipstream III will also be tough to beat.

The nineteen boat fleet will be starting racing at 1000hrs Saturday and Sunday and completing up to five windward leeward races each day in the open waters between the East Coast Bays and Rangitoto.

The event web site is being run by the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron and technology willing includes live updates and race by race results. To follow all the action over the weekend get out to the A buoy outside Rangitoto or for the online event page click here

You can also follow LIVE via Twitter: @RNZYS or Facebook/RNZYS with Results posted to the RNZYS website

Young 88 - Day 1, 2014 Bay of Islands Sailing Week

Full 2014 Entry List:
Abracadabra - Chris Steele (RNZYS YTP)
Dangerzone - Lincoln Fraser
Dilemma - Ben Tilly
Flash Gordon - Jeremy Lomas
Heartlight - Roger Sims
Legless - Grant Crawford
Men @ Work - Frans De COurt
Medium Dry - Philip Rzepecky
Nijinsky - Des Davis
Panama Jack - Andrew Fraser
Raging Hormones - Zane Gifford
Sailor Moon - Jacko Van Deventer
Simple Minds - Bruce Scott
Skitzo - Jamie Dawson
Slipstream III - Nathan Williams
Undercover - Ed Massey
Waka Huia - Bill Dalbeth
War Machine - Mike Leyland
Young Magic - Mason Pepper