Gibson qualifies for quarter finals at Worlds

by Media 
Josie Gibson (GBR) and crew will tussle with six other teams in the Quarter Finals commencing tomorrow on Auckland’s Waitemata Harbour

Nicky Souter of Australia improved her first-equal position in the BSport ISAF Women's Match Racing World Championships to qualify for the quarter finals in a clear first place.

A good day also for Britain's Josie Gibson, who qualified for the quarter finals after wins over Leroy, Philippe, Smyth and Farrell to finish the round robin stage with eight wins and five losses, to be in fifth overall.

Gemma Farell won two and lost two to finish the round robin stage in tenth. In the Repecharge stage Farell lost her first five matches and failed to make the quarter finals.

Souter and her crew of Kylie McKillop, Lilly Taylor and Rayshele Martin only had two final races, and good clean starts ensured they emerged victorious from both.

Souter is joined in the Quarter Finals by reigning champion and world number one, Claire Leroy of France, whose single loss today against Josie Gibson didn't affect her overall standing in the regatta.

Leroy shares her overall tally of ten wins and three losses with Silja Lehtinen of Finland. The other three sailors to qualify in the Round Robin for the quarter finals are Silke Halbrook of Germany, Josie Gibson of Great Britain, and Jess Smyth of New Zealand, each on eight wins and five losses.

Repecharge rounds are currently being sailed and will be completed on Saturday morning, the fourth day of racing. After five wins from five races Australian Katie Spithill has already emerged as the seventh confirmed starter for tomorrow's quarter final and the eighth position will be occupied by either Christelle Philippe of France or American Liz Baylis, who each have four wins and one loss.

Round Robin Results (top six skippers qualify for quarter finals + top two repecharge)

1. Nicky Souter AUS - 11 wins / 2 losses
2. Claire Leroy FRA - 10 / 3
3. Silja Lehtinen FIN - 10 / 3
4. Silke Hahlbrock GER - 8 / 5
5. Josie Gibson GBR - 8 / 5
6. Jess Smyth NZL - 8 / 5
7. Liz Baylis USA - 7 / 6
8. Katie Spithill AUS - 6 / 7
9. Lotte Meldgaard DEN - 6 / 7
10. Gemma Farrell GBR - 5 / 8
11. Jan Dawson NZL - 4 / 9
12. Christelle Philippe FRA - 4 / 9
13. Camilla Ulrikkeholm DEN - 2 / 11
14. Sabrina Gurioli ITA - 2 / 11