Countback needed to decide NS14 Australian Championship winner

NS14 Nationals 2012 Day One
Bernd Meyer
A countback has been required to decide the winner of the 2012-2013 NS14 Australian championship that ended today at the Port Dalrymple Yacht Club at Beauty Point on Tasmania’s Tamar River.

New South Wales crews Bryce Edwards and Amanda Stern and Rohan Nosworthy and Sophie Holt both finished on a net 11 points after the final race, in a brisk 14-15 knot breeze.

Arctic (Rohan Nosworthy and Sophie Holt) - NS14 Australian Championship 2012-2013
Peter Sluce

Each crew had then won five races, but Edwards and Stern, from Cronulla Sailing Club, had had five seconds to three seconds by their rivals, Nosworthy and Holt, deciding the countback in their favour.

The championship went right down to the line with Edwards and Stern winning the final race by one minute, 19 seconds.

Third place overall went to Tasmanians Peter and Karen Davis on 26 points, fourth to their children, Katherine and Matthew Davis on 48.5 points, with another NSW crew, Ross and Hayden Ansen in fifth place on 50 points.

Spinifex, sailed by husband wife team Peter and Karen Davis - NS14 Australian Championship 2012-2013
Peter Sluce

The family crew title went to Peter and Karen Davis, the junior championship to Katherine and Matthew Davis with Katherine also receiving the trophy for leading female skipper. Their father took out the Masters skipper trophy.

The NS14 Australian championship has been a highlight of Port Dalrymple Yacht Club’s 60th season.