Australian Tornado charge

Glenn Ashby and Darren Bundock (helm) after finishing the first race in the Tornado at the 2008 Olympic Regatta - Day 7
While close to the shore today in the 2008 Qingdao regatta, the focus was on the Ynglings, Finns and 49ers, it was a battle for survival too for the Tornado fleet offshore.

Just one race was sailed on Course E, in heavy winds and two metre seas and Spaniards Fernando Echavarri and Anton Paz just managed to cling onto their overall series lead

Number one World ranked Tornado sailors Darren Bundock and Glen Ashby who thrive in strong breezes won the race and are now just a single point in arrears.

The Greek pairing of Iordanis Paschalidis and Konstantionos Trigonis are in third place overall although now behind the Australians and the Argentineans capsize put them back into fourth.

Dockside the Australians were pleased with today’s work. ‘We were a little apprehensive going out’ said Bundock, ‘we are ten kilo’s lighter than we’d sailed before in heavy weather, but we’d lost weight, but not skill.’

‘We came off the start with good pace and had no problems after that. Techinque was important. The waves were the big problem today. Guys were washed off the back of their boats today; we saw that happen to the British.

‘There are still six races to go so anything can happen. We are just concentrating on making sure we don’t have a bad race. '

Francesco Marcolini and Eduardo Bianchi (ITA) were second in the race, with the Dutch team of Mitch Booth and Pim Nieuwenhuis (NED) third.

It was the forecast of strong winds that caused the Dutch to baulk at using a small light weather spinnaker.

This is turning into a horror regatta for the American’s Johnny Lovell and Charlie Ogletree, they are sailing with the small gennaker and they are have an average 11th place across the four races. Ogletree went close to admitting they’d made a mistake when he mumbled about 20/20 hindsight tonight.

Tornado Results

Tornado – Overall Results
1ESPFernando Echavarri16141212
Anton Paz Blanco
2AUSDarren Bundock54311313
Glenn Ashby
3GREIordanis Paschalidis251272626
Konstantinos Trigonis
4ARGSantiago Lange1311122727
Carlos Espinola
5NEDMitch Booth313832727
Pim Nieuwenhuis
6CANOskar Johansson83992929
Kevin Stittle
7ITAFrancesco Marcolini159423030
Edoardo Bianchi
8BELCarolijn Brouwer1111563333
Sebastien Godefroid
9GERJohannes Polgar1071153333
Florian Spalteholz
10FRAXavier Revil7210163535
Christophe EspagnonDNS
11GBRLeigh McMillan681383535
Will Howden
12UKRPavel Kalinchev4156133838
Andriy Shafranyuk
13USAJohn Lovell14127114444
Charles Ogletree
14AUTRoman Hagara121014104646
Hans Peter Steinacher
15CHNYoujia Luo91416165555
Xiuke ChenOCSDNF